Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Sigma 170-500mm lens or a 2x converter on my Canon 90-300mm

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    redstag
    redstag e2 Member 8100 forum postsredstag vcard United Kingdom14 Constructive Critique Points
    1 Jul 2007 - 10:04 AM

I am considering buying a new long lens but I'm not sure if my money would be better spent on a 2x converter. I have very little experience of converters and their effect on quality, so any pointers would be gratefully received.
    I am considering the Sigma 170-500mm lens, again anyone got one? Any views.
    They will be going on my EOS 300D.

Thanks for the help.
    Jon

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    1 Jul 2007 - 10:04 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

ZenTog
    ZenTog  127875 forum posts England1 Constructive Critique Points
    1 Jul 2007 - 10:08 AM

the 2x convertor doesnt work very well on any of the normal canon range and thats the L convertor, which often doesnt fit the siggie zooms
    it slows or stops auto focus completly , it degrades image quality as well.
    if you need a big lens the only way to do it is buy a big lens, the 1.4 convertor works fairly well accross the range with out degrading image quality that much.
    the sgima 50-500 is a lens that has a following by people who can afford the big canon primes, have you thought about one of the cheaper cnaon primes and adding a 1.4 convertor when the light is good enough

Helpful Post! This post was flagged as helpful
    justin c
    justin c  104537 forum posts England36 Constructive Critique Points
    1 Jul 2007 - 10:23 AM