Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Silky Water

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

New PortraitPro 12 SALE + 10% OFF code EPZROS814
Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    MarkBroughton
    31 Dec 2007 - 3:26 PM

Hi,
    I have owned an Eos400d for about a month and have just "got into" photgraphy and am an absolute beginner. I have taken some shots and uploaded them of which I am very pleased that some folk have viewed and voted (thanks). I keep seeing shots of running water such as waterfalls or streams and the water has a smooth silky-like look. I am assuming the shot is taken with a slow shutter speed, but would really like to know a pointer in the right direction for the basic settings to take such a shot, there is one posted today entitled "wet shins" that sums it up totally. Any help would massively appreciated. Apologies if this subject has been covered a million times.
    Cheers
    Mark

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    31 Dec 2007 - 3:26 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Anthony
    Anthony  125645 forum posts Scotland17 Constructive Critique Points
    31 Dec 2007 - 3:35 PM

easy enough to do. compose your shot, use a tripod, absolute must. and set yourself a shutter speed as slow as you want. you could put the camera into shutter priority, choose something around 1 second, and try that. review the image, if its not right then you will be able to adjust the settings. its dependant on the speed of the water really, so a little experimenting is required.

If you really cant get it slow enough, use a polariser to reduce the shutter speed a bit more, you will lose around 2 stops there, so gain some extra time.

Good luck and enjoy.

Anthony