Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Some Equestrian Photography Questions

19 Mar 2012 11:47AM
Hi All,
I have recently been offered an opportunity to be an 'official' photography for a local horse club at their summer events. I have never done this before but have already found some very helpful advice on the thread start by fran_weaver, so I'll not attempt to rehash.
The question I have concerns the selling of prints at the event, which my predecessor did.
Most of the work I undertake at the moment is portrait work, where I have the luxury of time for the shoot, post-processing, and editing. This, of course, is a luxury I will not have at the events. I am going to offer prints at A4 and have a good Canon Ip4700 to do the printing. What I want to ask is if there is an editing program anyone can suggest that isn't as 'bulky' as Photoshop? I have decided to shoot in mostly in RAW, as the thought of JPEG fills me with dread (although I intend to practice it), so I need a program that allows me quick editing and cropping of RAW images, whilst allowing me to also display the same images nicely to potential customers. I was thinking that my Canon Digital Photo Professional would be ideal, but also wondered if there is anything better out there for the task.

One last question concerning kit... I have a Canon 5D with a Canon 28-125 lens, a Sigma 50mm 1:1.4 lens, and a Sigma 70-300mm lens... I am thinking the 70-300 will be the best for shooting the action shots... Would you agree?

Many thanks in advance,
Jeff

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Overread e2
6 3.9k 18 England
19 Mar 2012 11:53AM