Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

System choice

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

reefman
reefman  2
28 Jun 2012 - 11:42 PM

New system help
I'm new to the hobby though have always had a keen interest but always made do with a compact.

I've done some, actually quite a bit of research and have narrowed my camera choices to either the Canon 650 or 60d. Other than general family stuff I want to do some wildlife and landscape work as well as macro and capturing my reef aquarium inhabitants. Other dslrs on my shortlist were the Nikon 5100 or the new 3200.

Whilst I'm not really interested in video I guess its a nice addition to the 650d but not sure of the hybrid a/f system for stills work but as this is the latest model though it would be a better bet than the 60d which I understand isn't the easiest camera for a beginner to get to grips with. I would welcome any views on my thinking and decision

I've a budget of between 1250-1500 to get my kit together and assuming about 600 for either of the above bodies then I have a number of lens choices but really cant decide.

Tamron 17-50 (non VC) 2.8 or the Canon 15-85 250 v 478

less flexibility on the Tamron but better IQ? against high price of Canon
and

Tamron 70-300 zoom (heavy??) or Canon 70-300 IS USM or Canon 50-250mm 330 v 250 v 150

Is either of the 300s worth the premium over the 50-250?
If I went with the tamron 17-50 with either of the 300s would the gap between 50-70 be a major issue

and

either the tokina 2.8 100mm Macro at 310 or

tamron 90mm macro 350

Please help as I've reached information overload and getting more confused by the day and really want to get my camera over the weekend

thanks

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
28 Jun 2012 - 11:42 PM