Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro vs Sigma 50mm f/2.8 macro

jonah794 e2
5 1.7k 11 United Kingdom
4 Aug 2009 7:25PM
Hi,

I am a keen young photographer and I love wildlife photography and I would love to buy a good macro lens for insects, flies etc...

Which of these two are better, and if neither are recommended what else is there? I have a Nikon D70.

Thanks, I hope you can help,

Jonah

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

justin c 11 4.6k 36 England
4 Aug 2009 7:29PM
The Tamron is better by a long shot. Working with insects the more working distance you have between lens and subject, the better.
I used the Tamron for many years, it's a superb lens.

Justin
GazzaG2003 11 252 England
4 Aug 2009 8:39PM
I have a friend who has the tamron 90mm and the detail/sharpness is superb, i was going to get this lens 2 weeks ago, but i had the chance of the sigma 150mm macro 2.8, and this lens is nothing short of magnificent... i love it..
pink e2
11 1.9k 5 United Kingdom
4 Aug 2009 8:46PM
I have the Tamron and you would not be disapointed
ge22y e2
6 115 12 Wales
4 Aug 2009 10:29PM
I've got the tamron 90mm and the sigma 50mm both are excellent lenses for the money, I would probably go for the tamron 90mm if you're looking at doing insects, check out my wifes pf most of her real close up macro shots are done with the 90mm tamron, also doubles as a good portrait lens.

Gez
ge22y e2
6 115 12 Wales
sorry she's hellsbells8868 lol...
jonah794 e2
5 1.7k 11 United Kingdom
Thanks guys

I will definitely buy the tamron if you say its better,

Thanks
Jonah
jonah794 e2
5 1.7k 11 United Kingdom
4 Aug 2009 10:30PM
ok thanks,