Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Theatre Photography

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

New PortraitPro 12 SALE + 10% OFF code EPZROS814
Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    johnalexander
    18 May 2010 - 8:27 AM

I have been asaked to take some photos of a theatre production and I have never done anything like this before. I am quite nervous about it as I have no idea (really) what I am doing. I am aware of how to use my camera, iso etc. but wondered if any of you had experience in this field and could warn me abouot possible ****-ups I could avoid!
    I was not going to use flash as it might ruin the atmosphere (what I have read) however during staged shots I think I might be taking would it be beneficial to use some fill-flash to freeze movement and to register the ambient light in the background in order not to ruibn the atmosphere.
    Would like to know what you guys think.
    Thanks everyone
    John

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    18 May 2010 - 8:27 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

User_Removed
    18 May 2010 - 2:17 PM

Your right - no flash
    What camera body do you have? - you will need something like at least a canon 5D MkII or Nikon D700 to produce quality high ISO images. Just depends what these people are expecting. You'll also benefit from some fast glass too?
    Tell us what you have.

johnalexander
    18 May 2010 - 5:59 PM

hi Shawry,
    I have a 5D , a 40D. I have 70-200USM L IS, 50mm 1.4 85 1.8. and 17-40. I think they should be ok.. but no flash you say? not even off camera, or fill?

davidbailie
    davidbailie e2 Member 11451 forum postsdavidbailie vcard United Kingdom5 Constructive Critique Points
    18 May 2010 - 6:16 PM