Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Three choices - D90, D5100, D7000

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

onetrickpony
30 Oct 2012 - 11:01 AM

Ohhh I'm so confused. I had a Nikon D80 for three years - my first DSLR. I loved it. I'm not a pro photographer or anything, I just take travel pictures, but I do shoot in manual all the time, I have spent some time reading some good books about photography and I am an 'enthusiast'. I backpack a lot, all over the world, so lots of heavy gear has never been an option.

About 3 months ago my camera was stolen, along with my 35mm lens. I still have a Sigma 18-200mm, which I rarely used but always kept just in case. So, obviously, I need to replace it. My immediate thought was a Nikon D90 - I always wanted one, I'd be used to it. But when I tried to go and buy one, the salesman made out like it had been completely obsoleted (even though they had one in stock), told me I'd be MUCH better off with a newer model, either a D5100 or a D700. I know its just a salesman, but he really seemed convinced so I thought I'd get other opinions. My thoughts are that I still want a D90.

The D5100 is missing the control wheel on the front, which really annoyed me when I picked it up and tried to use it. I also felt like the viewfinder was a bit smaller (is it? salesman said it was the same as the D80/90, but I'm not convinced). The D7000 feels much better, but frankly its out of my price range. I have been saving up, long term, for an 18-70mm 2.8 lens, which I've always wanted, buying the D7000 would blow those savings. I've read some reviews of both cameras, they all seem to be ranting and raving about how much better they are than the D90.

Any experiences / advice?

Sponsored Links