Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Total newbie looking for help with camera purchase

2 Feb 2014 9:58PM
I am a total novice in photography and don't know anything about how to adjust settings on cameras. I am looking to purchase a camera for my every day needs. I mostly photograph my constantly moving young children, outdoor activities, and scenery while we are hiking/snowshoeing/camping etc.
I prefer pictures that are up close but I don't necessarily like to be right in their face to get it. I want a decent photo without needing an SLR, which is too bulky for my needs and I don't know how to use it effectively anyway. I would prefer to spend less than approximately $500.

What kind of specifications should I be looking for? Any particular cameras?

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

2 Feb 2014 9:59PM
It was recommended that I try the fujifilm x20 and I have that in hand. It looks like it will take perfectly fine pictures but I am worried the zoom is not enough.
Paul Morgan e2
13 16.1k 6 England
2 Feb 2014 10:35PM
It a good little camera, the zoom of 108mm should be perfectly long enough for your needs
jemraid 9 45 England
3 Feb 2014 11:33AM
Hello MH,

I agree with Paul I use the previous model the X10 and can easily print to 12 x 16 with it. It also copes with contrasty conditions very well indeed here's an example.

1-grabshot.jpg

This is out of camera and you can see that the sensor has held the highlights very well indeed. All it needed was a little bit of brightening in the centre, the stall holder was very happy with the print Smile

Jem
3 Feb 2014 6:36PM