Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Total newbie looking for help with camera purchase

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    Mamahen
    2 Feb 2014 - 9:58 PM

I am a total novice in photography and don't know anything about how to adjust settings on cameras. I am looking to purchase a camera for my every day needs. I mostly photograph my constantly moving young children, outdoor activities, and scenery while we are hiking/snowshoeing/camping etc.
    I prefer pictures that are up close but I don't necessarily like to be right in their face to get it. I want a decent photo without needing an SLR, which is too bulky for my needs and I don't know how to use it effectively anyway. I would prefer to spend less than approximately $500.

What kind of specifications should I be looking for? Any particular cameras?

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    2 Feb 2014 - 9:58 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Mamahen
    2 Feb 2014 - 9:59 PM

It was recommended that I try the fujifilm x20 and I have that in hand. It looks like it will take perfectly fine pictures but I am worried the zoom is not enough.

Paul Morgan
    Paul Morgan e2 Member 1214381 forum postsPaul Morgan vcard England6 Constructive Critique Points
    2 Feb 2014 - 10:35 PM

It a good little camera, the zoom of 108mm should be perfectly long enough for your needs

jemraid
    jemraid e2 Member 841 forum postsjemraid vcard England
    3 Feb 2014 - 11:33 AM

Hello MH,

I agree with Paul I use the previous model the X10 and can easily print to 12 x 16 with it. It also copes with contrasty conditions very well indeed here's an example.

1-grabshot.jpg