Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Upgrade (Lightroom 3) or change

23 Apr 2013 8:31AM
As the owner of Lightroom 3 I can "upgrade" to Lightroom 4 for around 65. Is this worth doing or is there a better editing program out there for the same sort of price? As an amateur wildlife photographer I don't take thousands of pictures and I get the impression that the Lightroom series is specifically designed for handling/sorting/storing large numbers.
Comments would be appreciated.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

cats_123 e2
10 4.3k 25 Northern Ireland
23 Apr 2013 8:41AM
I've been running LR4 for since it came out and think it's a great piece of kit. I don't think you would really classify it as a storage device. Yes, it sorts, and allows multiple variations from the same image without altering the original, but find it's the `simplest' yet sophisticated manipulation software available. My volumes are relatively low

As there is a LR5 beta out..it might be worth waiting for the full version before upgrading. There are some other threads on here which speak highly of the beta (I haven't tried it yet) SmileSmile
digicammad 11 22.0k 37 United Kingdom
23 Apr 2013 8:55AM
I switched to LR about a year ago and hardly ever venture into PS now, I think LR is absolutely superb. The workflow is fast and efficient and it has enough tools to be more than just a 'whole image' editor. The only thing I wish it did a little better is cloning/healing, that is pretty much the only thing for which I have to use PS these days.

If you use Photomatix LR4 also allows you to load images direct and then save the results back to your catalogue.

Ian
Gaucho e2