Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Upgrade from Canon EOS 20D

mikeyc71 11 1.2k
9 Jan 2010 8:21PM
I am looking to upgrade my 20D to a 1D Mark III until I read a post recommending an upgrade to a 5D Mark II due to a much improved image quality.

What discernible differences are there between a 20D and the 1D Mark III or the 5D Mark II? Am I going to notice the difference in IQ?

I love my 20D and I find the IQ stunning from ISO100-800 and I am trying to find reasons NOT to upgrade as I probably don't need to.

Bear in mind I am not a pro tog and have made it my New Year resolution to start taking more pictures. I like to set myself a challenge to take the best possible picture I can. Also I have got 'L' glass: 17-40L, 70-200L F4 and also a 50mm 1.8 Mark I prime lens.

Thanks in advance.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

LensYews 5 1.3k 1 United Kingdom
9 Jan 2010 8:35PM
Begs the question why are you looking to upgrade, if you are happy with what you are getting why not stick to that? With their larger sensors, both the 1d3 and the 5d2 will provide you with better quality images.

I'm also looking to upgrade from my 40d, as I'm not happy with the number of out of focus shots I'm getting on the continuous shooting mode, but this could also be technique/skill on my part. I was considering a 1d mkIII until I posed the question to our Editor In Chief, who advised me to look at the 7d or if I could stretch to it the 1d mkIV, but then I need the autofocus performance, or if I had to proceed with the 1d3, then to test every lens I would be using before purchasing it. So that has kind of put me off the 1d3, even with the keen pricing at Jessops at the moment.
mikeyc71 11 1.2k
9 Jan 2010 10:00PM