Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Using Hotshoe Flash - Advice please

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    webby962
    webby962  8128 forum posts United Kingdom1 Constructive Critique Points
    31 Aug 2010 - 9:30 AM

OK, here is my problem. I have been shooting outdoors for a few years, and think I understand how my camera works, and more importantly, what I need to do to get a sharp and well lit shot in most instances. I have just started shooting in studios, and although I don't profess to be any good, I do believe I understand the technical stuff enough to get a well lit shot that is sharp.
    For outdoor and studio I only use the AV, Tv and M settings as appropriate.

I have now purchased a Canon Speedlite, and would like the skill to be able to use this when indoors at events etc..
    I have had a play around with it, and have got results using the different modes.
    AV on camera, Speedlite on ETTL gives me well exposed by blurred shots (clearly shutter speed way to low.)
    TV on camera (1/80th), speedlite on ETTL gives me well exposed subject, and sharp. (But aperture flashes at 2.8)
    M on camera (1/100th and F8 and ISO100) gives underexposed shot that is sharp.
    M on camera (1/100th, F8 and ISO400) gives better exposure and sharp.
    For me the answer looks like use Tv and the slowest shutter speed that gives sharp results, but is this the best way?

For the experts out there, what is the best settings to have when shooting indoors at events?
    And are there any simple tutorials for novice Flashgun users out there?

(PS my set up is a Canon EOS30D, Speedlite 580EXII, Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG lens)

Sorry if this is a bone question Grin

Rgds

Adie