Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

0

Warning...Computer virus...

Forums > Off-topic discussion > Warning...Computer virus...

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    First · Prev | 1 · 2 | Next · Last
    tommyld
    tommyld (e2 Member)
    2
    tommyld vcard United Kingdom
    7 Nov 2012 - 4:22 PM
    0

    Hi all, i have recieved a message from my daughter who works for an international company with regard to a new virus that is being circulated and i send this message to you all to be aware of it, DO NOT OPEN UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.....


    PLEASE CIRCULATE THIS NOTICE TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY ON YOUR CONTACT LIST.

    In the comming days you should be aware

    Do not open any message with an attachment called "invitation FACEBOOK"

    Regardless of who sent it, it is a virus that opens an Olympic torch
    and burns the whole hard disc C of your computer

    The virus will be recieved from someone you have in your address book

    Thats why you should send this message to all you contacts

    It is better to recieve THIS message 25 times than to recieve the virus and open it

    If you recieve an email called "invitation FACEBOOK", though sent by a friend DO NOT OPEN IT, delete it imediately

    CNN said it is a new virus discovered recently and has been discribed by Microsoft as the most destructive virus ever

    It is a Trojan Horse that askes you to install an Adobe Flash plugin

    once you instal it ...its all over....

    there is no repair for this kind of virus

    the virus simply destroys the Zero Sector of the Hard Disc
    where the vital information of their function is saved

    THE INFORMATION HAS BEEN CHECKED WITH SNOPES



    Be careful out there you guys...

    Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    7 Nov 2012 - 4:22 PM

    Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

    snapbandit
    snapbandit (e2 Member)
    9
    2189 forum postssnapbandit vcard Northern Ireland3 Constructive Critique Points
    7 Nov 2012 - 4:29 PM
    0

    HOAX !! (and a very old one at that!!)

    http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/invitation.asp

    Last Modified By snapbandit at 7 Nov 2012 - 4:30 PM
    Phil_Restan
    Phil_Restan (e2 Member)
    7
    276 forum postsPhil_Restan vcard Scotland9 Constructive Critique Points
    7 Nov 2012 - 4:30 PM
    1

    And here Hoax

    Last Modified By Phil_Restan at 7 Nov 2012 - 4:32 PM
    Willpower
    7 Nov 2012 - 4:33 PM
    0

    Oh good grief not that one again. Sad

    Sounds like the same 'deadly trojan scare' that comes out every year thats revealed by CNN, yet isnt reported anywhere on their site. You heard the one about Facebook being sold and shutting down? Yeah, that should pop along again soon too

    more fb bull..

    NaturesHaven
    NaturesHaven (e2 Member)
    1
    161 forum postsNaturesHaven vcard England2 Constructive Critique Points
    7 Nov 2012 - 4:39 PM
    1

    Thank you for taking the time to inform people............not everyone is aware of these potential problems.............you can never have to many warnings..........hoax or not!!!!...................SmileSmileSmileWinkWinkWinkWink

    bullshit.jpg

    tommyld
    tommyld (e2 Member)
    2
    tommyld vcard United Kingdom
    7 Nov 2012 - 4:48 PM
    0

    Thank you NaturesHaven, one cannot be too carefull...

    The other one is the email telling us that we've been "tagged" in facebook. The warning is that, if we click on the link, nasty malware is loaded into our machine before we're re-directed to a random Facebook page.

    When I was a kid, they just warned us about the bogey-man.

    Gaucho
    Gaucho (e2 Member)
    11
    1535 forum postsGaucho vcard United Kingdom2 Constructive Critique Points
    7 Nov 2012 - 6:26 PM
    0

    or the wolf Smile

    KevSB
    9
    1202 forum posts United Kingdom5 Constructive Critique Points
    7 Nov 2012 - 7:54 PM
    0

    Thankyou for taking the time out to tell us about this tommy. Old or not Its always a good reminder we have to be carefull and doublecheck everything we do online.

    Ade_Osman
    Ade_Osman (e2 Member)
    10
    3932 forum postsAde_Osman vcard England31 Constructive Critique Points
    7 Nov 2012 - 7:58 PM
    0

    GrinGrinGrinGrinGrinGrin

    Someone stop it, I'm wetting myself with laughter here......

    Ade

    All these emails are HOAX's and the real intention is to slow down or/and block internet activity because p$£*ks do what it requests and forwards it to all their friends. Does no one have aany common sense anymore!

    Last Modified By collywobles at 7 Nov 2012 - 9:15 PM
    RogBrown
    RogBrown (e2 Member)
    6
    2918 forum postsRogBrown vcard England10 Constructive Critique Points
    7 Nov 2012 - 9:20 PM
    0


    Quote: PLEASE CIRCULATE THIS NOTICE TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY ON YOUR CONTACT LIST.

    DON'T circulate stuff like this to your contacts. It may itself contain a virus.

    First · Prev | 1 · 2 | Next · Last

    Add a Comment

    You must be a member to leave a comment

    Username:
    Password:
    Remember me:
    Un-tick this box if you want to login each time you visit.