Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Wedding - Help Please

nsrh e2
6 144 United Kingdom
21 Jul 2008 8:17PM
Hi folks

I have been asked by some close friend's of mine if I would take pictures at their forthcoming wedding (2 weeks).

I am a guest at the wedding anyway and they are well aware that I am not a pro tog, but as they have paid for the whole thing themselves they have decided not to have a pro tog in order to cut costs.

I have agreed to do this on the understanding if it goes wrong they won't hold it against me and I am doing it FOC.

I am using the following kit:

Nikon D80 (2 bodies, 1 borrowed)
18-135mm kit lens
60mm AF-D Prime Lens
Tamron 55-200mm lens
SBH-600 Flash Gun (is this good enough)
2 x 1GB memory cards

They have told me just to take random shots and I intend to shoot in JPEG (fine).

Any advice of shots, kit etc would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Nigel

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

culturedcanvas e2
9 4.7k 59 United Kingdom
21 Jul 2008 8:19PM
search the threads .. theres lots of advice on this in here. Mainly "dont do it" but there might be something useful too Wink
User_Removed 7 1.5k 1
21 Jul 2008 8:23PM
I note 3 problems from what you have wrote.

1. you will need far more memory cards
2. Your lenses are clearly not up to the job.
3. Shooting in jpeg is all very well if you have even soft lighting with enough exposure latitute to use the correct exposure but if it is very bright conditions raw could get you out of a lot of trouble.

james
nsrh e2
6 144 United Kingdom
21 Jul 2008 8:26PM

Quote:Search the threads .. theres lots of advice on this in here. Mainly "dont do it" but there might be something useful too