Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Wedding Photography! The state of the industry?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Lucian
Lucian  4561 forum posts
9 Nov 2010 - 9:54 AM

Just thought i would ask everyone what their thoughts are on the state of the wedding photography market. I have been trading for a few years now and have been getting more bookings each year and have been happy with the money i have made. It has got to the point that i want to give up my day job and make a full time income from photography but i feel that the proffesion is becoming increasingly undervalued by the amount of cheap photographers out there.
Up until now cheap wedding photographers have not bothered me because they are not doing jobs at a price that can possibly make them a full time income, however, i think that they are potentially taking so much work away from people who are on the verge of making a full time income from it.
I am consistently getting e-mails from people saying that they have been given a cheaper quote or they have got a photographer who is giving them all their photos on cd free in addition to the wedding album. From experience with my clients i quite often make more money on addtional prints from guest than i do of the bride and groom.
I have spoke to several photographers who have been in business for years and years and they all say that they are taking less bookings than ever. I wonder if the amount of wedding photographers in britain has peaked or will there be even more starting up.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
9 Nov 2010 - 9:54 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

strawman
strawman  1022010 forum posts United Kingdom16 Constructive Critique Points
9 Nov 2010 - 10:00 AM