Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

What genny do i need?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    Bucephalas69
    25 Oct 2008 - 11:04 PM

Hi guy's, sorry to dominate forum, but I'm a novice as far as generators are concerned.

What spec genny do i need?

I'll be running 2 laptops, 2 Mitsu printers and in all probs around 180Watts of light bulbs.

Richy

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    25 Oct 2008 - 11:04 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

ZenTog
    ZenTog  127875 forum posts England1 Constructive Critique Points
    25 Oct 2008 - 11:12 PM

mitsubs are power hungry , you will need at least 2kw probally more , laptops use very little,
    the problem is invertor gennies are needed to prevent power spikes, but are a lot more expensive but very reliable
    three ways to do it
    a large diesal gennie very quite , price from 600 for copy of honda up to 2000 for honda

3kw suitcase gennies 400 for honda clone, 1500 for hondas

a honda open frame 5kw which is what i used for 4 years, run through a trip system , then through a spike protector, cheaper around 300 for copy and 500-600 for honda

you need to add up max watt draw for all equipment then add on 50% for a reserve

dont be tempted to use very cheap 2 stroke gennies they will blow electrics and need filling too often

factor in for a shelter /cover for rain , also you need to check for some events where you need quite gennies on the rules , we also have a fire extinguisher beside the gennie just in case of accidents

Bucephalas69
    26 Oct 2008 - 4:59 PM

Cheers for that.
    It's been more of a mindfield than any other aspect of starting up.