Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

What is Portrait Photography ?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

pulsar69
pulsar69  101611 forum posts United Kingdom6 Constructive Critique Points
14 May 2013 - 9:10 PM

This came up in a discussion tonight and would be interested to hear others views , someone asked me to take a portrait and I explained that whilst I am a photographer and can take a portrait style photo my skill is in documentary style wedding photography and landscapes which are my passions, therefore a portrait would be best taken by a portrait photographer perhaps in a portrait studio.

I then began to questions what i see as a 'portrait' and found myself asking the font of all knowledge which to my surprise agreed with my 'perception'

quote from wiki :
A portrait is a painting, photograph, sculpture, or other artistic representation of a person, in which the face and its expression is predominant. The intent is to display the likeness, personality, and even the mood of the person. For this reason, in photography a portrait is generally not a snapshot, but a composed image of a person in a still position. A portrait often shows a person looking directly at the painter or photographer, in order to most successfully engage the subject with the viewer.

So then , you portrait photographers and studio guys , do you agree ? or is this a very old take on the world and portraits are now something much more lively and expressive ?

To me really capturing someones personality requires them not to realize you are doing it ?

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
14 May 2013 - 9:10 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

arhb