Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

what is tonal range ?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    Francois Lepinay
    29 Nov 2009 - 10:39 AM

I am new to photography, and I dont understand what "tonal range" means". In that particulay editor choice awarded photo, could you possibly tell me what is the tonal range ?
    I want to understand, so I can get better.
    Thank you for your help.
    http://www.ephotozine.com/photo/1423

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    29 Nov 2009 - 10:39 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

MikeA
    MikeA  91174 forum posts England
    29 Nov 2009 - 11:25 AM

Just Google:

Here is one for starters, hope it helps:

link

Francois Lepinay

yes , but what about picture : http://www.ephotozine.com/photo/1423 . Has it got tonal range like yours have, as you seem to suggest ?

Last Modified By Francois Lepinay at 29 Nov 2009 - 4:57 PM
    NEWMANP
    NEWMANP e2 Member 61587 forum postsNEWMANP vcard United Kingdom574 Constructive Critique Points
    29 Nov 2009 - 7:07 PM

just think of a full gradient from pure white to full black as being a full tonal range.

sometimes the tonal range displayed in an image is just dull grey to black this is a limited tonal range.

if you have well balanced mono conversion from white to black you will have a full range of tones.

sometimes you will have a high contrast image which is white to black with very little grey tones.

its generally understood that a good mono print will contain a full range of tones. although this is not always the case or possible due to the lighting conditions.