Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

What should I be shooting with my 50mm lens?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

garyfreeman
1 Feb 2013 - 2:23 PM

Hey Guy's firstly I just wanted to say what an awesome site this is everyone helping each other with your knowledge and advice.

This is my first post so I hope I am following the protocol!!

I managed to get my first DSLR around 4 months ago now and based on my budget I purchased a Nikon D7000 and a 50mm f1.8G prime lens. I am just starting out in photography other than years with a basic point and shoot but I am not sure if I have restricted what I can shoot getting this first lens. I did do a fair bit of research prior to purchase and based on my budget and advice got the 50mm prime as a good starting point to learn the basics. Could you give me some advice as to the kind of things I should and shouldn't be shooting with it. I know you have highlighted it is not a portrait lens but as it is all I have and all I can afford for now, your advice would be appreciated.

Kind regards Gary (Cambridge, England) Smile

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
1 Feb 2013 - 2:23 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

GarethRobinson
GarethRobinson e2 Member 8995 forum postsGarethRobinson vcard United Kingdom2 Constructive Critique Points
1 Feb 2013 - 2:34 PM

It will work fine for portraits. Try landscapes and take a series of shots and stitch on the pc. Also if you like macro try a reversing ring adaptor cost lees than 20 and gives excellent results.
That will keep you busy for a few weeks.

Last Modified By GarethRobinson at 1 Feb 2013 - 2:41 PM
garyfreeman
1 Feb 2013 - 2:38 PM

Hi Gareth