Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

What were the top visual clichés for 2012?

hobbo e2
3 892 2 England
1 Jan 2013 9:18AM
Ah!....So sad for the tree...and I really mean that.........Hats of to the first photographer to see its potential..............and to the few who created something different from the same scene........but the others who followed, the first, sheep-like desrve no praise....Similarly, those Lakeside landing stages that seem to vanish into Run-Off from a local Dairy.

But, then....looking back at my (relatively short) development as a photographer, I too have been guilty of many cliche'd creations (its the way we learn)..........

Soooo, my Photographic New Year's Resolution is to ......Up my knowledge of light use and to MAKE photographs that are radically different or are technically challenging........I began just prior to the new Year by mastering the very real challenge of Birds in Flight.

Catching them in flight is reasonably simple with the right settings....but placing a BIF correctly in the frame, against a photographically pleasing Background isn't.......so most attempts get deleted:

Hobbo

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

User_Removed 5 4.6k 1 Scotland
1 Jan 2013 12:16PM

Quote:I agree with rev2, what is the point of taking a photo of a tame bird of prey?

Much the same as taking a photograph of a nude model in a studio with a paper background, I guess.

Wink
Rev2 e2
5 240 2 United Kingdom
1 Jan 2013 12:43PM

Quote:Less captive birds and animals masquerading as 'wildlife/nature'. Might as well take photos of sheep and chickens!

I like taking photos of sheepTongue: :lol:

Yes, but you don't have to post them to the gallery. Well, perhaps just the pretty ones. Tongue

Anyway, I rest my case ...
Rev2 e2
5 240 2 United Kingdom
1 Jan 2013 12:45PM