Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

When photography becomes just a job

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

50% OFF new PortraitPro 12, plus EXTRA 5% OFF code EPHZROS414.
pulsar69
pulsar69  91611 forum posts United Kingdom6 Constructive Critique Points
31 Aug 2013 - 8:21 AM

I visited a sick relative some months back in a middlesbrough hospital and once again some weeks ago in an another local health establishment. In both establishments were massive acrylic landscapes by the photographer Joe Cornish. The second establishment more so than the first being newer had obviously spent a great deal of money on those works yet the decor furnishing and equipment for the patients left a lot to be desired.

Also being a keen landscaper i found it very interesting to sit and watch in the corridors as visitors passed, little if indeed any attention was paid to any of the works at all , and the usual suspects Roseberry Topping etc just simply ignored on the way past.

I can admire Joes work on its technical merit and although there are lots of tweaks made to the images to get them there and they are taken with medium format cameras and lots of expertise, they do for me miss one vital ingredient and that is passion. So for a man who has made his money on tourism selling prints postcards etc and who is obviously doing well for himself when did he stop pushing the boat out ( excuse the pun ) and is a great camera and technical ability really a substitute for passion and a gifted eye ? Are the days of the picture perfect postcard scenes numbered and have people just become immune to them ?