Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Which Canon lenses to photograph Machu Picchu and Rainforest

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    rachhs
    rachhs  1
    3 Jul 2013 - 1:54 PM

Hi, I am an amateur photographer with a Canon 550D. I am travelling to Peru in August visiting Machu Picchu and the Rainforest. Ia m trying to decide which lenses to take with me so that I can get the best photographs and would really welcome your advice.

Thanks
    Rachel

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    3 Jul 2013 - 1:54 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

franken
    franken e2 Member 113098 forum postsfranken vcard Wales4 Constructive Critique Points
    3 Jul 2013 - 2:10 PM

What lenses do you have Rachel?

Ken

lemmy
    lemmy  71814 forum posts United Kingdom
    3 Jul 2013 - 2:12 PM

A kit zoom should do the trick.

JN_CHATELAIN_PHOTOGRAPHY
    3 Jul 2013 - 2:19 PM

A rain coat might be very handy.

mikehit
    mikehit  56298 forum posts United Kingdom9 Constructive Critique Points
    3 Jul 2013 - 2:29 PM

The rainforest can get susprisingly dark, even at midday, but the high ISO capability of the 550D should make things a tad easier (find some local woodland and see how it goes). I presume you want minimum weight so I would suggest mainly zoom lenses - the 15-85 is an excellent option with the 50mm f1.8 for low light and portaits. If you want a telephoto zoom, the 70-300 IS USM is a vastly under-rated lens or if you want something lighter the 55-250.