Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Why does my shutter speed not go over 1/200 when using flash?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    NobbytheNobster

I'm just a novice photographer and know very little about the technical side of digital slr cameras so any advice will be greatly appreciated.
    I have been trying to shoot a glass of water (dropped from a height) shattering on impact but i've been having problems attempting to use a fast shutter speed with a flash!
    I know i need a fast shutter speed to freeze the shattering glass and good light so i used an on cam metz flash gun along with 3 cheap remote off cam strobe flashes, one placed either side of the point of impact and one directly above but the problem i'm having is the image always comes out blurred because i cant get the shutter speed faster than 1/200... unless i dont use a flash at all but then the image comes out way too dark even when i bump up the iso.
    There is probably a simple reason why i'm having this problem, do cameras go above 1/200 when using a flash or is just the camera i'm using? i have a canon 550d t2i.
    or maybe i just need more light and no flash at all?
    My inspiration for trying this shot comes from the front cover of this months digital photo magazine, he used four off cam flashes (but did not say what shutter speed he used!) so i know it can be done!
    Any advice to help me understand this problem will be very much appreciated.
    Thanks
    Rick

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    23 Jul 2011 - 9:02 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

indemnity
    indemnity  5328 forum posts
    23 Jul 2011 - 9:18 PM