Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Zoom lens for safari - Help needed!

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Little_Nell
24 Jul 2009 - 2:04 PM

I asked for some advice on this a couple of months ago and you all gave some fantastic suggestions so thanks for being brilliant and taking a novice under your wing! Smile

Having looked at some of these in the shops, I have realised just HOW expensive zoom lenses are! I am going on a 5 day safari in Kenya and want to get a fairly decent zoom lens for animal photography. I also don't want to spend over 500 as I don't think I'll get masses of use out of the lens after this trip (I'm a relative novice with SLRs).

I went to a well known photography shop where I live and they suggested the Canon 70-300mm F4.5-5.6 IS at 443.12. It's a glass lens and one up from the basic entry level lenses. Do you think this is a good lens for animal photography? And is Image stabilisation necessary for the kinds of shots I want to take?

A cheaper alternative they suggested was the EFS 55 -250 F4-5.6 at just over 200 but with no IS and this is a plastic lens. Shops on Tottenham Court Road have the 75-300mm F4-5.6 III USM for around 200. I know these are not 'fast' lenses but do you think they are fast enough for animal shots? - To get a similar F2.8 version takes the price over 1000!

Currently I have an entry level Canon 400D with standard kit lens (18-55mm). What are your thoughts on the above lenses or possibly the Canon compatible Sigma equivalents? Your thoughts on this would be much appreciated as there seem to be many variants of lenses with the same focal range!

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
24 Jul 2009 - 2:04 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

proberts