Amazon Music Unlimited Offer: 1-Month For FREE!

Canon EOS 5D Mark IV Expert Review - Specifications

 Add Comment

Canon EOS 5D Mark IV Specifications

ManufacturerCanon
Lens
Effective Magnification1x
Image Sensor
Pixels30.4Mp (Megapixels)
Pixels (W)6720
Pixels (H)4480
Sensor TypeCMOS
Sensor SizeFull-Frame
Sensor Size (width)36mm
Sensor Size (height)24mm
Aspect Ratio
  • 3:2
LCD Monitor
LCD Monitor3.2in
Screen resolution1620K dots
Touch ScreenYes
Focusing
Focusing modes
  • Autofocus
  • Manual
  • Spot
  • Face Detection
  • AF Tracking
  • Multi
  • Centre
  • Touch AF
  • AF Fine Tuning (Micro Adjustment)
Exposure Control
Shutter speeds shortest1/8000sec
Shutter speeds longest30sec
Bulb modeYes
Exp modes
  • Program
  • Aperture-Priority
  • Shutter-Priority
  • Manual
  • Program Variable
Metering
  • Centre-weighted - Average
  • Multi Pattern
  • Partial
  • Spot
  • TTL
  • Centre Spot
ISO sensitivity50 - 102400
White balance
  • Auto
  • Manual
  • Bracket
  • Outdoors/Daylight
  • Cloudy
  • Incandescent
  • Fluorescent
  • Shade
  • Flash
Exposure Comp+/-5
Viewfinder
Magnification0.71x
Shooting Options
Continuous shooting7fps
Video
Movie modeYes
Video Resolution
  • 1920x1080 FullHD
  • 4K
  • 1280x720 HD 720p
Video FPS4K 30,25,24fps
Stereo SoundNo
Optical Zoom with VideoYes
Other Features
Image StabilisationNo
Interface
HDMIYes
USBUSB 3
Wi-FiYes
Storage
Card Type
  • SD
  • SDHC
  • CF
  • SDXC
File Type
  • RAW
  • JPG
  • RAW + JPG
Power Source
Battery TypeLP-E6N
Battery Life (CIPA rating)900shots
Box Contents
Box ContentsNo Data
Dimensions
Weight890g
Width150.7mm
Height116.4mm
Depth75.9mm

View Full Product Details


Support this site by making a Donation, purchasing Plus Membership, or shopping with one of our affiliates: Amazon UK, Amazon US, Amazon CA, ebay UK

It doesn't cost you anything extra when you use these links, but it does support the site, helping keep ePHOTOzine free to use, thank you.

Photographs taken using the Canon EOS 5D Mark IV

Miners Cottages 5Ready to go...15 Hours LaterWyming BrookPress onKoropuku FallsYou looking at me?!!It's Me... Mr Bearded Tit114 SecondsBig waves?DividedPair of ternsDead WoodGoldCascade

Other articles you might find interesting...

Canon EOS 850D Rebel T8i Review
Canon EOS-1D X Mark III Review
Nikon D6 Review
Nikon D750 DSLR Review
Best Budget DSLR Cameras For Beginners 2021
Nikon Updates WebCam Software So It's Compatible with More N...
New Pentax K-3 III DSLR Coming With ISO 1.6Million
Top 14 Best Full-Frame DSLRs 2020

Comments


25 Aug 2016 11:02AM
Surely the 1Ds was the first full frame Canon. Introduced end of 2002.
sherlob Plus
14 3.2k 129 United Kingdom
25 Aug 2016 11:31AM
£3629 RRP - Well at this price point I suspect a good number of enthusiasts are likely to be priced out of the market. Me for one.
ChrisV Plus
14 2.3k 26 United Kingdom
25 Aug 2016 11:41AM
ISO32000 before expansion? That seems like an odd ceiling [not being a whole stop number], although the more logical 3200 seems a bit on the conservative side.

I suppose the devil will be in the detail with this camera as initially it doesn't seem much of a dramatic leap from the mkIII. The price does seem a bit of a leap though, although it possibly shouldn't be a surprise as Canon's prices have crept up not so gradually over the last few years, I bought my 5dII probably somewhere in the middle of its production cycle for around £1650. Launch prices are always higher, but at around double that, this is a definite 'ouch'.
RJPhoto 8 16 1 United Kingdom
25 Aug 2016 2:00PM
The old 1 series used an APS-H sensor, which is smaller than full frame but bigger than APS-C, so I think this is right that the 5D was the first full frame for Canon.

With respect to this new MKIV, the price is higher than the 5Ds (and r) - are Canon thinking this camera will appeal to more users overall, or is the new video facility and the 5D reputation making them think they can basically charge the earth? The price is just ridiculous. One look at the Pentax K1 at less than half the price with a bigger sensor, pixel shift and lots of other useful bits (including a better rear screen) will make a lot of photographers question their upgrade route, even Sony's A7rII also looks good value compared to this.

I have a 5D MKII, a 5Ds and a 6D and can't see how the new MKIV will make me go for it now my MKII needs replacing. I shoot portraits, weddings and landscapes, with some commercial work, and unless Canon botch up the 6DMKII I think that could be a better bet for me, and basically photographers everywhere, rather than videographers.
25 Aug 2016 2:25PM
Canon 1Ds was the FIRST full frame camera ! I still have an 1Ds Mkii. Here's the start of a review:

The EOS-1Ds is Canon's newest professional SLR. Based on the EOS-1D body the EOS-1Ds raises resolution to 11 megapixels, uses a CMOS sensor (just like the EOS-D30 and D60) and is the first Canon digital SLR with a sensor which captures a full 35 mm frame. (Source DPReview)
RJPhoto 8 16 1 United Kingdom
27 Aug 2016 11:08AM
You're quite right, the 1D was APS-H, the 1Ds full frame.
karl Plus
17 654 United Kingdom
31 Aug 2016 11:50AM
RE: RRP - Don't forget the exchange rates have moved massively out of favour for us recently, which has an effect on the price, as does inflation.
joshwa Plus
10 927 1 United Kingdom
6 Oct 2016 10:02AM
Full review now live
Techno Plus
12 6.0k 8 England
7 Oct 2016 9:29AM
it's a shame that the screen doesn't tilt....................Why?
joshwa Plus
10 927 1 United Kingdom
7 Oct 2016 11:13AM

Quote: it's a shame that the screen doesn't tilt....................Why?


Some people find tilting screens useful, particularly when using live view for stills or video.
RJPhoto 8 16 1 United Kingdom
7 Oct 2016 12:56PM
Agree - shooting from the hip like the good old days of the Blad is a nice feature to have - Sony and Pentax both have this nailed (ok, so for fashion type work where the subject isn't racing all over your studio) as this position gives the best perspective on whole body shoots. Looks like we'll have to continue kneeling or bending our bad backs.
Techno Plus
12 6.0k 8 England
7 Oct 2016 3:26PM

Quote: it's a shame that the screen doesn't tilt....................Why?

Some people find tilting screens useful, particularly when using live view for stills or video.

I will concede that on odd occasions it would be useful, i.e. lying prone in wild flower meadow at ground level, but, my memory goes back to an accident I had with a Fuji x30 in the Lake district where moisture found its way into the LCD around the ribbon cable, very difficult to water proof, those are my personal thoughts.....
Thanks for your feedback Joshwa....Wink
12 Oct 2016 10:12PM
You do not mention that the function of the row of buttons in front of the top screen has been reversed for each button. That will surely cause confusion for people who use two bodies, say, a 5DIII and a 5DIV.
12 Oct 2016 11:16PM
re my above post. I now understand that although the symbols have been reversed, the same dials are used as in earlier versions of the 5D
I'm an enthusiast photographer and I shoot various genres including, landscape, studio and sport. Have had every iteration of the 5D and the MkIV has all the things that I wished the MkIII had. I have been using it for a month and it is a superb camera. The pixel count is ideal as it doesn't give the problems that occur at the more rarefied levels. The camera has an increase in dynamic range, lower noise (particularly in the shadows), is fast enough for most sport photography and has improved weather sealing. Having had problems with a tilt screen in the past I wouldn't give one a thank you. I use the Wi Fi remote shooting from my smartphone which works very well.
The layout follows the pattern as the MkIII and I have hardly had to refer to the manual to use the camera. The price is high, yes, but the performance across multiple genres is impressive. The camera is a true workhorse and a genuine jack of all trades and is master of most. We can expect to pay much more for many things in post Brexit Britain as the pound is at a 30 year low.
I have now been using the Mk IV for over 2 months and I have to say that I have found it to be an excellent camera. The dynamic range is much better, noise levels are better, focusing is improved in low light and the live view focusing is first class. I intended to use both this camera and my old 5D III but I instinctively go for the Mk IV, even if the MK II is sitting there ready to go with the right lens on. Is it worth the money? Well given the enjoyment I have had from it so far the answer is yes.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.