Affinity Photo - professional photo editing with 50% off!

Canon EOS 800D Expert Review - Specifications

 Add Comment

Canon EOS 800D (Rebel T7i) Specifications

ManufacturerCanon
Lens
Effective Magnification1.6x
Image Sensor
Pixels24Mp (Megapixels)
Pixels (W)6000
Pixels (H)4000
Sensor TypeCMOS
Sensor SizeAPS-C
Sensor Size (width)22.3mm
Sensor Size (height)14.9mm
Aspect Ratio
  • 3:2
LCD Monitor
LCD Monitor3in
Screen resolution1040K
Touch ScreenYes
Focusing
Focusing modes
  • Autofocus
  • Manual
  • Face Detection
  • Multi
  • Centre
  • Touch AF
Exposure Control
Shutter speeds shortest1/4000sec
Shutter speeds longest30sec
Bulb modeYes
Exp modes
  • Program
  • Aperture-Priority
  • Shutter-Priority
  • Manual
  • Scene modes
  • Program Variable
Metering
  • Centre-weighted - Average
  • Multi Pattern
  • Partial
  • Spot
ISO sensitivity100 - 51200
White balance
  • Auto
  • Manual
  • Bracket
  • Outdoors/Daylight
  • Cloudy
  • Incandescent
  • Fluorescent
  • Shade
  • Flash
Exposure Comp+/-5
Shooting Options
Continuous shooting6fps
Video
Movie modeYes
Video Resolution
  • 1920x1080 FullHD
Video FPS30, 25, 24
Stereo SoundYes
Optical Zoom with VideoYes
Other Features
Image StabilisationNo
Interface
HDMIYes
USBUSB 2
Wi-FiYes
Storage
Card Type
  • SD
  • SDHC
  • SDXC
File Type
  • RAW
  • JPG
  • RAW + JPG
Power Source
Battery TypeRechargeable Li-ion Battery LP-E17
Battery Life (CIPA rating)600shots
Box Contents
Box ContentsCamera, Lens, Charger, Battery, USB Cable, AC Cable, Strap, Manual, CD-ROM
Dimensions
Weight532g
Width131mm
Height99.9mm
Depth76.2mm

View Full Product Details


Support this site by shopping with one of our affiliates: Amazon UK, Amazon US, Amazon CA, ebay UK, Save 10% with Eversure Insurance.
*It doesn't cost you anything extra when you use these links, but it does support the site, helping keep ePHOTOzine free to use, thank you.

Used Photography Gear

Cameraworld The offers are provided by the Cameraworld & ePHOTOzine Partnership, see more fantastic Used Photography Gear.

Photographs taken using the Canon EOS 800D

Stepping into the sunGrey SquirrelA momentLegendLegend VanI am watching youLegend3 butterflieslegendsSmokinIn hidingLegends PembreyTrucks PembreyFamily timePembrey Trucks

Other articles you might find interesting...

Canon EOS 90D Review
Canon EOS 250D Review
Nikon D3500 Review
Pentax K-1 Mark II Review
Canon EOS 90D Sample Photos
Pentax K DSLR In Development
Best Cameras For Wildlife Photography 2019
Nikon D6 DSLR Camera Is In Development

Comments


russellsnr 14 227 England
15 Feb 2017 10:21AM
Hi, Canon user for many years.
Why do Canon persist with the APS-C sensors? surley a FF sensor is now the way to go, I just wonder what people would say if offered a new APS-C sensor or an older sensor in the new body that offers the advantage of FF.
Yes I no APS-C sensors are cheaper to make but anyone no the difference in cost between the APS-C and the FF sensor in manufacture?
Russ

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

themak 6 1.0k Scotland
15 Feb 2017 11:23AM

Quote:Why do Canon persist with the APS-C sensors? surley a FF sensor is now the way to go,

Strange question. They make a range of FF and APSC cameras. Who benefits if they stop APSC?
redhed17 13 864 England
15 Feb 2017 2:05PM

Quote:Hi, Canon user for many years.
Why do Canon persist with the APS-C sensors? surley a FF sensor is now the way to go, I just wonder what people would say if offered a new APS-C sensor or an older sensor in the new body that offers the advantage of FF.
Yes I no APS-C sensors are cheaper to make but anyone no the difference in cost between the APS-C and the FF sensor in manufacture?
Russ



You do know that every manufacturer sells way more crop sensor DSLRs than FF cameras don't you. Just because you seem not to need/want the benefits of a crop sensor camera doesn't mean that FF is for everyone. And the sales numbers seem to back this up. "Surley" a good job there is choice eh! Wink
alan53 12 United Kingdom
16 May 2017 10:46AM
“Why do Canon persist with the APS-C sensors?” You might as well ask why do Canon use FFsensors? There’s a market for both. Personally I find 24MP APS-C gives me what I need. So why would I want bigger, heavier, and more expensive? Go one model up from entry level and you’ll get most of the extras too.

Consumers want choices. Interestingly, Fujifilm chose to skip the FF market, and jump from APS-C to Medium Format for those that want better quality. All formats are compromises. There’s no perfect choice.
Canonshots 9 197 13 United Kingdom
17 May 2017 1:43PM

Quote:Hi, Canon user for many years.
Why do Canon persist with the APS-C sensors? surely a FF sensor is now the way to go, I just wonder what people would say if offered a new APS-C sensor or an older sensor in the new body that offers the advantage of FF.
Yes I no APS-C sensors are cheaper to make but anyone no the difference in cost between the APS-C and the FF sensor in manufacture?
Russ



Personally I am not interested in FF. If I were to buy an FF camera I would need a complete new collection of lenses, which would put even a low-priced DSLR way beyond my budget. Canon are obviously aware of the need to cater properly for their existing customer base.
17 May 2017 10:51PM
For those who do not have a seriously RAM loaded computer, working with Full Frame image files would be nearly impossible. The file sizes on my full frame camera are in RAW over 90 megapixels!
It makes neither sense nor is it practical to eliminate a perfectly viable smaller sensor which is overkill for the caste numbers of photo users who are just as likely to use their smart phone to take pictures otherwise. I have both formats, full and APSc and use them both. They each have advantages. When I first obtained an APSc I thought it was a dead end and eventually all digital cameras would head to a full frame when prices dropped which they never did. The APSc became the popular standard for SLRs and the full frame strictly for professional use. It makes sense. Surely 24 megapixels is more than sufficient for general use and makes for decent print sizes for nearly all uses. They get better and better. The format war so to speak is done and APSc is the winner and now with Canon finally adding electronic Image stabilization they have all the advantages of the tiny compromised sub APS c formats as well. Mirrorless might be the next step of course for those that choose that but in principle the sensor issue is the big one and not mirror vs no mirror. There are millions of lenses out there and people are not about to toss them for yet a new format. I suggest more to the point is a set of FAST Focussing lens adapters for mirrorless cameras. That would be excellent for all that glass out there.
ThomasT 6 2 United Kingdom
18 May 2017 2:49AM
According to pro Ken R, these smaller sensors today are so good that unless you're a pro blowing up to mural size.. you won't see the diff. In any case, having finally just gone from Fuji Velvia/Leica to digital.. it made much sense to get the smaller sensor camera. For the same price as just the body of the Canon 800D, I picked up a mint camera and with it.... a fixed 24.f2/8-1600 f4 Leica optic!! It's the Lumix FZ1000. Results are stunning, close to velvia 50, with setting at Vivid X5 and an 81B filter..

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.