Fujifilm X-T2 Expert Review : Performance


Fujifilm X-T2 Performance

The performance section is where we look at the image quality performance of the camera. Additional sample photos and product shots are available in the Equipment Database, where you can add your own review, photos and product ratings.

Speed - We took a number of shots to test the camera's responsiveness, from switch on to first photo, shot to shot, focusing speed etc. We take a number of shots and then use the average to ensure accurate and consistent tests, making it easy to compare with other cameras.

Shutter Response <0.05secs
Wide - Focus / Shutter Response 0.1secs
Full zoom - Focus / Shutter Response  0.125-0.175secs
Switch on Time to Taking a Photo 1.0secs
Shot to Shot without Flash 0.3-0.5secs (MF)
Shot to Shot with Flash 5secs
Continuous Shooting - JPEG
(shots before slow down)
7.8fps (61 shots)
Continuous Shooting - Flash N/A
Continuous Shooting - RAW 8fps (22 shots)


Tested with 18-55mm lens, fine JPEG (unless raw), lens modulation optimiser on, without the battery grip. Raw uncompressed. Performance option set to normal.

 

Fujifilm X-T2 Sample Photos

Sample Photos - Colour is very good, and many will find the results very pleasing, with the camera producing bright vibrant photos with good levels of saturation and contrast. Exposure is reliable, although care needs to be taken to ensure images aren't under-exposed as the camera produces images with high levels of contrast and fairly dark shadows, on default settings. Dynamic range options include DR100, DR200 and DR400 and the differences are quite subtle, but with the DR200 and DR400 images retaining more highlight detail, although unfortunately these settings don't boost shadow detail. If you want to create HDR images you'll need to use the exposure bracketing mode, as the camera doesn't have an automatic HDR image creation feature in camera. 

 

Fujifilm X-T2 Lens test images

Lens Performance - The close focusing distance of the 18-55mm f/2.8-4.0 lens isn't great for macro shots, but should be suitable for most photography. For closer shots a macro lens or different lens is recommended. Photos show good levels of detail and sharpness. The built-in optical image stabilisation helps with video recording, and will help in low-light. The lens and camera were quite resistant to flare and only shows flare when shooting with the sun directly in the frame. Lens modulation optimiser was switched on, and the camera produces excellent JPEG results straight from the camera.

 

Fujifilm X-T2 ISO test images

ISO Noise Performance - Noise performance on the Fujifilm X-T2 (and Fujifilm X-Pro2) is excellent, with low levels of noise up to ISO6400, and even ISO12800 could produce usable images. The only APS-C camera to better the noise performance of these cameras is the 20 megapixel Nikon D500

Noise reduction options can be set from -4 to +4, with the default being 0. We took these shots on the default setting, and used +0.3 exposure compensation, as the camera has a tendency to under-expose our test charts. To access the highest ISO speed of ISO51200 you have to go into the menus to customise the H setting on the ISO speed dial, otherwise this defaults to ISO25600.

 

Fujifilm X-T2 White-balance test images

White Balance Performance - Auto White Balance (AWB) gives a warm result under tungsten (incandescent) lighting, with the tungsten preset giving a slightly more neutral result. AWB performs well under fluorescent lighting, and the fluorescent presets give quite a strong colour cast.

 

Fujifilm X-T2 Outdoor images

 

Fujifilm X-T2 Digital filters

Digital Filters - Advanced filter gives digital filters, including Toy camera, Miniature, Pop colour, High-key, Low-key, Dynamic, Soft focus, and Partial colour (red, orange, yellow, green, blue and purple). The panoramic mode does a good job of stitching the images together, and takes a reasonably high resolution image compared to most cameras. 

There are number of film simulations modes including Provia, Velvia, Astia, Classic Chrome, Pro Neg Hi, Pro Neg Std, ACROS (black and white), Monochrome, and Sepia - the monochrome and ACROS modes let you apply a red, yellow or green filter as well. You can apply a grain effect, with options for weak or strong. 

 

Video - The Fujifilm X-T2 features a number of video options, including 4K video recording at 29.97fps, 25fps, 24fps, 23.98fps, and FullHD video at 59.94, 50, 29.97, 25, 24 and 23.98fps. You can choose between multi and area AF (auto-focus), HDMI output display (on or off), as well as 4K movie output to SD card, HDMI, or HDMI F.Log. With an external microphone attached you can adjust the microphone level, and if you want to add a headphone socket, then the optional Vertical Power Grip has one. In the "Save Data Setup" menu you can set whether video files are recorded to the first or second SD card.

 



Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Explore More

Photographs taken using the Fujifilm X-T2

Nicky by the window lightNight HeronThe MatterhornLoch BaThe RobinDeliveranceThe RobinThe RobinThe BeachChilean Blue Eagle at Mount CalamorroWorking overtime...Edge of beautyHigger TorWinter WalkRolling on...

Highest Rated Alternatives

Thumbnail : Nikon Z6 Review

Nikon Z6 Review

  • 3 Dec 2018
Thumbnail : Fujifilm X-T3 Full Review
Thumbnail : Nikon Z7 Review

Nikon Z7 Review

  • 10 Oct 2018

Comments


kaz1 Plus
8 82 United Kingdom
7 Jul 2016 8:01PM
I can't wait for the full review and testing.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.


Quote:I can't wait for the full review and testing.

me too. it is gonna be my favorite camera!
8 Jul 2016 3:03PM
I wish I had this X-T2 AF system in my present Fuji HS50EXR.
Wink Grin Wink
9 Jul 2016 4:50PM
Should be a great camera, but just a shame that Fuji still feel the need to give the XT a 'mock dslr' style body.

Handling for anyone with a nose is comprised by positioning the evf in the centre, and with no prism or mirror it's just not needed. It could have been better if designed as a more compact alternative to the X-Pro 2 and a water resistant update on the X-E2s, with a more logical body design. The evf could even be adjustable so it could be placed in the ideal position or even removed as a remote.

But mirrorless manufacturers seem to lack a bit of confidence and believe they need something that looks like a dslr to be taken seriously. Olympus and Sony have the same issue with their 'pro' models.
themak Plus
5 1.0k Scotland
9 Jul 2016 11:45PM
Seriously? If they redesigned it to be like the X-Pro 2, it would be the X-Pro 2 - why should it be more compact? If you prefer the rangefinder style, buy that - it's not that big. If you want a remote viewfinder, use your phone.
12 Jul 2016 3:20AM
I like the x-pro2, but i like the new x-t2 as well, but which is best?

Whichever floats your boat, but i do love both those camera's but im going to treat myself to an x-pro1 first, my budget cannot stretch to either xp2 or xt2!
themak Plus
5 1.0k Scotland
12 Jul 2016 1:41PM
Ideally I'd like the X-Pro 2 with an articulated screen. Maybe a bit specific, but I'm sure the Fuji designers are scribbling notes and I'll get my wish next time round.
themak Plus
5 1.0k Scotland
8 Sep 2016 4:36PM
'Dark shadows' a negative? I can see a dead horse getting another beating.
joshwa Plus
8 868 United Kingdom
8 Sep 2016 6:59PM
Hi themak,
It's just something to be aware of rather than a serious negative - and something that the DR options don't rectify. Thanks
Josh
themak Plus
5 1.0k Scotland
8 Sep 2016 7:26PM
Not sure what you mean, but one of the benefits of this type of camera is that you see what you're getting in the EVF and can compensate using the dials so you don't underexpose.
themak Plus
5 1.0k Scotland
8 Sep 2016 11:32PM
Having looked more closely at the DR images, it's clear it's gone for recovering the blown sky rather than lightening shadows - which I would prefer.
9 Sep 2016 1:36AM
I've been using this today with the 18-55mm and the 100-400mm.
The camera and kit lens just blows me away, the 100-400m is a beast, straight out of shot jpegs are so sharp and represent what I see with my eyes.

Maybe after 12 years with shooting with Canon and owninging the 7D for the past 4 years (forever adjusting ISO performance in Lightroom) have pushed me to change and try something different.

The fact is, is that I relish the challenge of switching systems, I can't afford to buy the latest Canon and the L range lenses , so I spent my money on Fuji (yes I know it's a lot to spend in one go), what difference, although the 100-400mm is big the XT-2 is almost toy like in weight compared to my old 7D, but ISO performance on the XT-2 is rediculous, and also pics have been sharp, sharp, sharp! I guess tech has moved on in the past 4 years. Yes, I could have bought the latest Canon, but I could never have bought the glass to go with it.

You make your choices and make the best of it, the proof is in the images you present... at the end of the day... (I've been saying this for over a decade)... it's the final image that counts not how you got there Smile
9 Sep 2016 2:01AM
...and just as as side note, you can't review this camera on the day of it's release... shoot in sunlight, low light, flash capabilities, night time, different lenses, all of it's available modes, put it through the mill as with any review, show what it CAN do as well as what it CAN'T. Give it to a pro and an enthusiast for a week... see what they do with it and post the samples... just an idea.
joshwa Plus
8 868 United Kingdom
9 Sep 2016 10:10AM
Hi Martin,
We've had it longer than a week and shot at Le Mans, etc, and will be adding more images when we take them. We'd be happy to share your images if you wanted to add any, please do send and add your views on the camera,
Thanks
Josh
10 Sep 2016 1:12PM
Wow have not been looked at this site for a little while. Too many Amazon adds for me.

Puts me off coming back.

Sorry.

Bantu Plus
5 7 1 India
10 Sep 2016 6:20PM
But to shoot with them daylight is really a problem my personal experience.

Vikram
10 Sep 2016 9:06PM

Quote:I like the x-pro2, but i like the new x-t2 as well, but which is best?

Whichever floats your boat, but i do love both those camera's but im going to treat myself to an x-pro1 first, my budget cannot stretch to either xp2 or xt2!



I purchased an X-Pro1 2 months ago for a great price. Awesome camera. And just purchased an XT-1. I would love the XP2 and XT2 but like you, I can't stretch the budget that far haha.
14 Sep 2016 12:48AM






Everything is super quick... and iso performance blows my old Canon 7D out of the water (but, the 7D is a few years old now).
It's going to take me a while of getting out of editing habits having been with Canon for so long. All I can say is EVERYTHING is sharp... whatever I point this Fuji at Smile
I have to totally disagree with lenscapon. It's nothing to do with making the camera look like a DSLR. I have an X-T1, X-T2, X-E2 and a nose! Firstly, positioning the viewfinder in the false pentaprism housing, raises and angles your nose away from the screen, whether you are left of right eyed. My nose is pretty average and never touches the screen on these cameras. The rangefinder viewfinders, as on the X-E's and X-Pro's are fine for right eyed people, if however you're left eyed like me, the positioning of the viewfinder, ensures your nose rubs all over the screen and is quite annoying. This is the one of the reasons I went for the X-T's rather than the X-Pro's.

Oh by the way, I love the X-T2 it's a wonderful machine!
I am fully aware that what the camera looks like isn't, or shouldn't be, an issue when purchasing what is in reality, a tool to do a job, but this must be the ugliest piece of kit I have seen in eons.
themak Plus
5 1.0k Scotland
14 Sep 2016 1:14PM
You must've missed the X-T1.Wink
14 Sep 2016 5:57PM
I am no expert, but the photos do not look that good, considering the price of the camera. The tree lined shot, for instance, washed out and not a sharp detail to be seen.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.