Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PortraitPro 17 SITEWIDE 50% off sale + EXTRA 15% OFF code EPZR18

Julia Margaret Cameron Award For Women Photographers

Julia Margaret Cameron Award For Women Photographers - The deadline for entering the Julia Margaret Cameron Award for Women Photographers is this Sunday.

 Add Comment


Copyright: Heidi Lender, "The Photographer".  www.heidilender.com
Copyright: Heidi Lender, "The Photographer".  www.heidilender.com

In this 5th consecutive edition of the Julia Margaret Cameron award, WPGA invites professional and amateur women photographers working in all mediums, styles and schools of thought. Traditional, contemporary, avant-garde, creative and experimental works that include old and new processes, mixed techniques, and challenging personal, emotional or political statements will be welcome.

Who can participate - professional and non professional women photographers from all countries, competing together. 

Categories (to be submitted in Single Images or Series/Portfolios):
  • Portraits
  • Landscapes and Seascapes
  • Street Photography and Cityscapes
  • Fine Art
  • Nude and Figure
  • Documentary and Editorial, and The Invisible Women 
In this edition a new category has been added: "The Invisible Women", images of the multitasking effort of women, often with little recognition, at home, work, caring... The Women everybody know that exist but seem not to be seen. Now things are changing and several women are in charge of governments, but  there's still a long way to go until full recogition of the sacrifice of women in this world.

Images to be submitted - There is a limitation of a total of 12 Single Images and 5 Series in total (in all categories) to be submtted in Single Image. Single images or Series can be submitted to more than one category but count as separate entries.  

Jurors - There will be a pre-selection done by WPGA. Once the pre-selection is done (finalists), jurors of the final judging process and selection of the recipients of the Julia Margaret Cameron Award will be announced.

Awards - The 5th Edition of the Julia Margaret Cameron Award will be given to 12 women photographers which will be invited to exhibit (and sell) their work in a very selective collective exhibition in Paris in November 2013, jointly with the recipients of the 3rd and 4th Edition. WPGA will take care of the all gallery expenses. Printing and framing will be supported by the artists. Exhibitors will receive 40% of the sales, 20% will be reserved for the gallery/organizers, and 40% will be donated to a charitable organization selected by the awardees. A catalog will be printed, and all 12 awardees will receive one free copy. Jurors may invite additional artists (Honorable Mentions) to participate in the exhibition).

WPGA reserves the right to change the location, venue and date f the exhibition in case of extraordinary circumstances beyond WPGA's control.

The final deadline is June 30th 2013 at 11:59pm PDT. Finalists (Pre-selection) will be done on an ongoing basis and ended on July 20th 2013. Announcement of Jurors of the final selection will be on July 22nd 2013 and announcement of Recipients of the JMC Award on September 5th 2013. To enter, and for more information, please visit the The Gala Awards website.

Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Explore More

There are no comments here! Be the first!

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.