Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Master Photographer of the Year 2001

Master Photographer of the Year 2001 - 

 Add Comment


Editorial and illustrative styles come to the fore continuing a trend in the 2001 Master Photographer of the Year Awards.

With a growing and younger membership than ever before (average age now just 32), the Master Photographers Association still represents the cream of Britain's portrait and wedding photographers, as well as editorial, fashion, commercial, industrial and PR professionals.

The 2001 Annual Awards show just how closely the styles of High Street social photography now match advertising and editorial work.

The UK Master Photographer of the Year 2001 is Marilyn Shenton AMPA, an editorial and illustrative photographer based in Yorkshire. Her original use of black and white materials, unusual formats, fine art hand printing and her choice of landscape and reportage subjects has alreadt given Marilyn's work a high profile. She also won the Fashion & Illustrative Award and Press & PR Award.

Marilyn is based at Avocet House, 8 Avocet Way, Thorpe Hesley, Rotherham, South Yorkshire S61 2UU. She can be contacted on 0114 24555485.

Overseas Master Photographer of the Year 2001 is William Ng Tong Hng AMPA, of Singapore, where membership of the MPA is growing and is considered to be a major advantage for city professionals. William's editorial portraiture won him the Overseas Avant Garde Portrait Award as well as this title.

A total of 27 Oskars - the MPA award statue named for the inventor of the Leica, Oskar Barnack - were awarded at the October 28th awards dinner, held at the Hilton Hotel, Coventry, and attended by over 350 delegates from all corners of the globe.

The winners were:

Avant Garde Portrait:
Damian McGillicuddy FMPA Widnes
Avant Garde Wedding: Julie Oswin AMPA   Loughborough
"Cosmopolitan Bride" Bride & Groom: Stuart Bebb AMPA   Bicester
Black and White: Gerry Coe FMPA   Belfast
Commercial and Industrial: James Facey LMPA  Liverpool
Classical Portrait: Michael Dearden LMPA  Caerphilly  
Classical Wedding: Andrew Dale AMPA  Stoke on Trent
Digital: David Millichope LMPA  Halifax
Dennis Hylander Wedding Award: Glen McDonald LMPA  Falkirk
The David Matthias Award: Kate Jackson LMPA  Romsey 
H Samuel Engaged Couple Award: Jaine Briscoe-Price LMPA  Wrexham
Family Portrait: Michael Leng LMPA  Wentworth, Yks
Fashion & Illustrative: Marilyn Shenton AMPA  Rotherham
Pets: Gary Williams LMPA  Cardiff
Pictorial: Daniel Valla FMPA   Haverfordwest
Press & PR: Marilyn Shenton AMPA  Rotherham
Under Fives: Mary Jeal AMPA   Surrey
"You & Your Wedding" Bride's Choice: Jeffrey Ascough AMPA  Derby

Overseas winners
Avant Garde Portrait
: William Ng Tong Hng AMPA Singapore
Avant Garde Wedding: Ron Peppenster AMPA  Netherlands
Black and White: Mark Russell-Hill LMPA  Dublin
Commercial & Industrial: Mark Russell-Hill LMPA  Dublin
Classical Portrait: Ron Peppenster AMPA  Netherlands
Classical Wedding: John Ryan AMPA   Dublin
Fashion & Illustrative: Mark Russell-Hill LMPA  Dublin
Pictorial: Mark Russell-Hill LMPA  Dublin
Press & PR: Gino Galea AMPA   Malta

Background Information
The Master Photographers Association was founded in 1952, celebrating its Golden Jubilee in 2002. The annual Master Photographer of the Year Awards are sponsored by the industry, and take place during a two-day event which includes major seminars and the Annual General Meeting of the Association.

The Master Photographers Association is based at:
Hallmark House
1 Chancery Lane
Darlington DL1 5QP
Telephone: 01325 356555

Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Explore More

There are no comments here! Be the first!

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.