Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here


Christmas Prize Draw 2017

Nikon D7500 Full Review : Specifications



Nikon D7500 Specifications

ManufacturerNikon
Lens
Effective Magnification1.5x
Image Sensor
Pixels20.9Mp (Megapixels)
Pixels (W)5568
Pixels (H)3712
Sensor TypeCMOS
Sensor SizeAPS-C
Sensor Size (width)23.5mm
Sensor Size (height)15.6mm
Aspect Ratio
  • 3:2
  • 16:9
LCD Monitor
LCD Monitor3.2in
Screen resolution922K
Touch ScreenYes
Focusing
Focusing modes
  • Autofocus
  • Manual
  • Spot
  • Face Detection
  • AF Tracking
  • Multi
  • Centre
  • AF Fine Tuning (Micro Adjustment)
Exposure Control
Shutter speeds shortest1/8000sec
Shutter speeds longest30sec
Bulb modeYes
Exp modes
  • Program
  • Aperture-Priority
  • Shutter-Priority
  • Manual
  • Scene modes
  • Program Variable
Metering
  • Centre-weighted - Average
  • Multi Pattern
  • Centre Spot
ISO sensitivity50 - 1640000
White balance
  • Auto
  • Manual
  • Bracket
  • Outdoors/Daylight
  • Cloudy
  • Incandescent
  • Fluorescent
  • Shade
  • Flash
Exposure Comp+/-5
Shooting Options
Continuous shooting8fps
Video
Movie modeYes
Video Resolution
  • 1920x1080 FullHD
  • 4K
Video FPS4K UHD 30/25fps, FullHD, 60, 50fps
Stereo SoundYes
Optical Zoom with VideoYes
Other Features
Image StabilisationNo
Interface
HDMIYes
USBUSB 2
Wi-FiYes
Storage
Card Type
  • SD
  • SDHC
  • SDXC
File Type
  • RAW
  • JPG
  • RAW + JPG
Power Source
Battery TypeEN-EL15 Lithium-ion Battery
Battery Life (CIPA rating)960shots
Box Contents
Box ContentsDK-28 Rubber Eyecup, BF-1B Body Cap, EN-EL15a Rechargeable Li-ion Battery with terminal cover, MH-25a Battery Charger (comes with either an AC wall adapter or power cable of a type and shape that varies with the country or region of sale), DK-5 Eyepiece C
Dimensions
Weight640g
Width135.5mm
Height104mm
Depth72.5mm

View Full Product Details



Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Explore More

Photographs taken using the Nikon D7500

Common Carder Bumblebeemale Scorpion Fly

Comments


tc847 10 1 United Kingdom
16 Apr 2017 1:51PM
Price point does not seem to match. It appears that it will cost 1299 but you can buy D500 for only 1499. Not sure what the attraction would be to save 200? Slightly smaller and lighter than D500 but overall a lower spec.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Chas66 1
17 Apr 2017 8:45AM
No significant upgrade on d7200. A lot downgraded, no battery grip, one slot and lower resolution just to gain a touch screen and 4k video??? Nikon you are about to lose a thirty year loyal customer when it is time to change my d7200. I will not buy the glass I was planning as I will probably move to true innovators like Fuji and Sony who listen to their customers. Where an upgrade is a true upgrade. Goodbye Nikon, you have lost the plot.
23 Jun 2017 11:35AM
We've now updated this to the full review.
BydoR9 6 9 United Kingdom
23 Jun 2017 1:30PM
Seems like a great camera, but I will stick with my D7200 thanks. We have pretty much reached a point now where ISO and megapixels are good enough - anything else is just a numbers game and for people who like technology. Don't care about video anyway, so 4k shooting is not on my list either. Smile
pablophotographer 6 817 308
23 Jun 2017 8:00PM
The continuous shutter speed sounded like my grandmother's sewing machine Smile
23 Jun 2017 9:14PM
Thanks for the review.
However, review states the obvious.
No reference to the AF mechanism which combines the D500 180K RGB metering with D7200 51 AF system.
steevo46 5 3 Australia
26 Jun 2017 10:27AM
It should be called a D5700. One card slot and a low res flippy screen.

No Nikon battery grip is a bit odd. Opportunity for wallet gouging was lost there.

I think for the price the 24MP D7200 is the overall winner here. I already have the D7100 and in my eyes neither the D7200 or D5700 is worth upgrading to next.
If you don't shoot much action or just shoot buffer-friendly JPG action then the run-out D7100 (30 to 40% discount!) is fine for someone on a budget. The D7100 has better low ISO (< ISO400) than the 7200.

I'd rather save up for the D500.

27 Jun 2017 12:23AM
Has anyone on this site actually held the D7500?
How can you possibly say that "the camera more comfortable to hold"
The placement of the Fn1 button makes it almost impossible to firmly hold, despite the "deeper grip"
Your middle finger is always sitting on top of the Fn1 button preventing you from firmly holding the camera and i also found myself unintentionally pressing the button every 5 seconds just walking around.
Its extremely frustrating and annoying. I had to return the camera..
joshwa Plus
7 826 United Kingdom
27 Jun 2017 12:31PM

Quote:Has anyone on this site actually held the D7500?
How can you possibly say that "the camera more comfortable to hold"
The placement of the Fn1 button makes it almost impossible to firmly hold, despite the "deeper grip"
Your middle finger is always sitting on top of the Fn1 button preventing you from firmly holding the camera and i also found myself unintentionally pressing the button every 5 seconds just walking around.
Its extremely frustrating and annoying. I had to return the camera..



Hi, nthbeach,

Yes we've used the camera extensively, and never found this to be a problem. As people's hands are different, this may be an issue for some people and not others.

You can also customise the function buttons, and can switch the function button off.

Thanks,
Josh
28 Jun 2017 3:31PM
Chas66. I totally agree. If you don't cater to the kiddies and the cellphone set these days you get bad reviews. Then everyone says Nikon needs to keep up with the latest technology or they'll lose sales. Change is a good thing but change just for the sake of change isn't. Nikon needs to look out for their older, loyal customers - the ones with all the disposable income. If they don't they risk losing them. So many of the people posting on these review websites won't ever buy a DSLR. I own seven Nikon DSLRs and over a dozen lenses. I have been a Nikon shooter for nearly twenty years. I have no use for flippy screens, wi-fi, touchscreens or 4K video. The D7500 should have had a larger MP sensor and two card slots. Instead they took one step forward and another step backwards. The disappointment is made obvious by the tone of the comments here. Hopefully the lackluster sales will show them the error of their ways.
29 Jun 2017 4:03PM
My last three DSLR's have all been Nikon, and I have been eagerly waiting for the D7500 to replace my somewhat dated D7000. Unfortunately I'm somewhat underwhelmed, and the backward steps of only one card slot and the reduction in pixel count is a deal breaker for me. I find myself for the first time looking seriously at other manufacturers, and Fuji cameras in particular are looking very exciting indeed.
ElSid 9 8 United Kingdom
29 Jun 2017 5:42PM
On the cons you have failed to note the lack of functionality with manual focus lenses - a feature which has been on every other 7xxx series camera.

I would certainly dispute that this camera sits above the D7200, at best it more on the 7200's shoulder and half a step behind...Wink

Along with the weird decision to eliminate proper AF/MF buttons on the new AF-P lenses (and their small maximum aperture of f6.3) this camera is another reason why they continue to trail some way behind Canon.Sad
I get a sense that some people are coming here and just regurgitating stuff they have seen on YouTube. Like the guy who claims to own seven bodies, has no use for flippy screens or 4K video - fine - but why is he so bothered then ) by a camera he does not need or want and b) ends up hoping the D7500 is a flop? I have the D7500 and the X100F. Both are single card cameras but the X100 is going back because it is too uncomfortable to hold for long periods, unlike the new Nikon which suits me fine.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.