Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here


Nikon D7500 Full Review : Verdict



Nikon D7500 DSLR (8)

Value For Money

The Nikon D7500 is available for £1299 body only which makes it good value for money, especially when you compare it to the Nikon D500, which is available for £1729 body only. 

Alternative APS-C DSLRs with weather-sealing include:

Canon EOS 80D, 24mp, 7fps, FullHD video, Wi-Fi, £999 body only
Canon EOS 7D Mark II, 20mp, 10fps, FullHD video, £1449 body only 
Sony Alpha A77-II, 24mp, 12fps, FullHD video, Wi-Fi, EVF, £999 body only
Pentax KP, 24mp, 7fps, FullHD video, Wi-Fi, £1099 body only 

Alternative mirrorless cameras with weather-sealing include:

Fujifilm X-T2, 24mp, 8-14fps, 4K video, Wi-Fi, £1399 body only
Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II, 16mp (with 40mp mode), FullHD video, in-camera IS, Wi-Fi, £849 body only
Panasonic Lumix GH5, 20mp, 12fps, 4K video, in-camera IS, £1699 body only
Sony Alpha A6500, 24mp, 11fps, 4K video, in-camera IS, £1399 body only

Have a look at more Digital SLRs in our Top 10 Best APS-C DSLRs. You'll also need to buy a memory card and a case or bag to keep your camera safe and protected - have a look at our complete guide to camera bags.

 

Nikon D7500 Verdict

With the Nikon D7500 featuring the same image sensor as the Nikon D500, you are getting the same D500 image quality, at a lower price point, and in a more compact camera body. This means you can benefit from the best-in-class noise performance, giving usable ISO up to ISO25600. Unfortunately, the D7500 doesn't benefit from the same auto white balance (AWB) options as the D500, missing a "White priority" option, which is frustrating, considering it is an option on even budget DSLRs from the competition and has been available on Olympus cameras for numerous years. This will be of particular importance if you shoot product shots. 

The ergonomics of the camera have been improved over the D7200, with a deeper handgrip, making it a comfortable camera to hold, as well as a tilting touch-screen making it easy to change settings. The improvements in speed will be welcome, with quicker continuous shooting (at 8fps), and improved live view performance. However, if you are regularly using live view, then you may find the focusing speeds a little disappointing.

There's the benefit of built-in Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, making it quick and relatively easy to transfer images to your smartphone or tablet so that you can quickly share images elsewhere, or edit images with your favourite apps. The remote shooting section of the app is a little limited, and it would be nice to see this improved in future.

If you regularly shoot at high ISO speeds (or want the option to), and want to be able to record 4K UHD video, whilst having the choice of a wide range of Nikon lenses, then the Nikon D7500 will be a great choice, with excellent image quality, and reliable performance. 

Nikon D7500 Pros

  • Excellent image quality (particularly with prime lenses)
  • Excellent noise performance
  • In-camera raw processing
  • Bluetooth image transfer
  • Dual-axis electronic level
  • 8fps continuous shooting
  • Improved ergonomics
  • 3.2inch tilting touch-screen
  • 4K UHD video recording

Nikon D7500 Cons

  • Single SD card slot
  • No white priority AWB option
  • Limited remote shooting app
  • Live view focus slower than some competition
  • Slow to transfer full-size images via Bluetooth

Features5/5
Handling5/5
Performance5/5
Value4.5/5
Overall Verdict



Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Explore More

Photographs taken using the Nikon D7500

Common Carder Bumblebeemale Scorpion Fly

Comments


tc847 10 1 United Kingdom
16 Apr 2017 1:51PM
Price point does not seem to match. It appears that it will cost 1299 but you can buy D500 for only 1499. Not sure what the attraction would be to save 200? Slightly smaller and lighter than D500 but overall a lower spec.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Chas66 1
17 Apr 2017 8:45AM
No significant upgrade on d7200. A lot downgraded, no battery grip, one slot and lower resolution just to gain a touch screen and 4k video??? Nikon you are about to lose a thirty year loyal customer when it is time to change my d7200. I will not buy the glass I was planning as I will probably move to true innovators like Fuji and Sony who listen to their customers. Where an upgrade is a true upgrade. Goodbye Nikon, you have lost the plot.
23 Jun 2017 11:35AM
We've now updated this to the full review.
BydoR9 6 9 United Kingdom
23 Jun 2017 1:30PM
Seems like a great camera, but I will stick with my D7200 thanks. We have pretty much reached a point now where ISO and megapixels are good enough - anything else is just a numbers game and for people who like technology. Don't care about video anyway, so 4k shooting is not on my list either. Smile
pablophotographer 6 787 298
23 Jun 2017 8:00PM
The continuous shutter speed sounded like my grandmother's sewing machine Smile
23 Jun 2017 9:14PM
Thanks for the review.
However, review states the obvious.
No reference to the AF mechanism which combines the D500 180K RGB metering with D7200 51 AF system.
steevo46 5 3 Australia
26 Jun 2017 10:27AM
It should be called a D5700. One card slot and a low res flippy screen.

No Nikon battery grip is a bit odd. Opportunity for wallet gouging was lost there.

I think for the price the 24MP D7200 is the overall winner here. I already have the D7100 and in my eyes neither the D7200 or D5700 is worth upgrading to next.
If you don't shoot much action or just shoot buffer-friendly JPG action then the run-out D7100 (30 to 40% discount!) is fine for someone on a budget. The D7100 has better low ISO (< ISO400) than the 7200.

I'd rather save up for the D500.

27 Jun 2017 12:23AM
Has anyone on this site actually held the D7500?
How can you possibly say that "the camera more comfortable to hold"
The placement of the Fn1 button makes it almost impossible to firmly hold, despite the "deeper grip"
Your middle finger is always sitting on top of the Fn1 button preventing you from firmly holding the camera and i also found myself unintentionally pressing the button every 5 seconds just walking around.
Its extremely frustrating and annoying. I had to return the camera..
joshwa Plus
7 823 United Kingdom
27 Jun 2017 12:31PM

Quote:Has anyone on this site actually held the D7500?
How can you possibly say that "the camera more comfortable to hold"
The placement of the Fn1 button makes it almost impossible to firmly hold, despite the "deeper grip"
Your middle finger is always sitting on top of the Fn1 button preventing you from firmly holding the camera and i also found myself unintentionally pressing the button every 5 seconds just walking around.
Its extremely frustrating and annoying. I had to return the camera..



Hi, nthbeach,

Yes we've used the camera extensively, and never found this to be a problem. As people's hands are different, this may be an issue for some people and not others.

You can also customise the function buttons, and can switch the function button off.

Thanks,
Josh
28 Jun 2017 3:31PM
Chas66. I totally agree. If you don't cater to the kiddies and the cellphone set these days you get bad reviews. Then everyone says Nikon needs to keep up with the latest technology or they'll lose sales. Change is a good thing but change just for the sake of change isn't. Nikon needs to look out for their older, loyal customers - the ones with all the disposable income. If they don't they risk losing them. So many of the people posting on these review websites won't ever buy a DSLR. I own seven Nikon DSLRs and over a dozen lenses. I have been a Nikon shooter for nearly twenty years. I have no use for flippy screens, wi-fi, touchscreens or 4K video. The D7500 should have had a larger MP sensor and two card slots. Instead they took one step forward and another step backwards. The disappointment is made obvious by the tone of the comments here. Hopefully the lackluster sales will show them the error of their ways.
29 Jun 2017 4:03PM
My last three DSLR's have all been Nikon, and I have been eagerly waiting for the D7500 to replace my somewhat dated D7000. Unfortunately I'm somewhat underwhelmed, and the backward steps of only one card slot and the reduction in pixel count is a deal breaker for me. I find myself for the first time looking seriously at other manufacturers, and Fuji cameras in particular are looking very exciting indeed.
ElSid 9 8 United Kingdom
29 Jun 2017 5:42PM
On the cons you have failed to note the lack of functionality with manual focus lenses - a feature which has been on every other 7xxx series camera.

I would certainly dispute that this camera sits above the D7200, at best it more on the 7200's shoulder and half a step behind...Wink

Along with the weird decision to eliminate proper AF/MF buttons on the new AF-P lenses (and their small maximum aperture of f6.3) this camera is another reason why they continue to trail some way behind Canon.Sad
I get a sense that some people are coming here and just regurgitating stuff they have seen on YouTube. Like the guy who claims to own seven bodies, has no use for flippy screens or 4K video - fine - but why is he so bothered then ) by a camera he does not need or want and b) ends up hoping the D7500 is a flop? I have the D7500 and the X100F. Both are single card cameras but the X100 is going back because it is too uncomfortable to hold for long periods, unlike the new Nikon which suits me fine.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.