Get 50% off Adobe CC Photography plan with any X-Rite ColorChecker Photo product!

Nikon Z6 Z7 Hands-On Preview - Specifications

 Add Comment

 

Comparison Table

Nikon Z6Nikon Z7
ManufacturerNikonNikon
Image Sensor
Pixels24.5Mp (Megapixels)45.7Mp (Megapixels)
Pixels (W)60488256
Pixels (H)40245504
Sensor TypeBack-lit CMOS (B.S.I.)Back-lit CMOS (B.S.I.)
Sensor SizeFull-frameFull-frame
Sensor Size (width)35.9mm35.9mm
Sensor Size (height)23.9mm23.9mm
Aspect Ratio
  • 3:2
  • 16:9
  • 1:1
  • 4:5
  • 3:2
  • 16:9
  • 1:1
  • 4:5
LCD Monitor
LCD Monitor3.2in3.2in
Screen resolution2100K dots2100K dot
Touch ScreenYesYes
Focusing
Focusing modes
  • Autofocus
  • Manual
  • Spot
  • Face Detection
  • AF Tracking
  • Multi
  • Centre
  • Autofocus
  • Manual
  • Spot
  • Face Detection
  • AF Tracking
  • Multi
  • Centre
Exposure Control
Shutter speeds shortest1/8000sec1/8000sec
Shutter speeds longest30sec30sec
Bulb modeYesYes
Exp modes
  • Program
  • Aperture-Priority
  • Shutter-Priority
  • Manual
  • Program Variable
  • Program
  • Aperture-Priority
  • Shutter-Priority
  • Manual
  • Program Variable
Metering
  • Centre-weighted - Average
  • Multi Pattern
  • Spot
  • Centre Spot
  • Centre-weighted - Average
  • Multi Pattern
  • Spot
  • Centre Spot
ISO sensitivity50 - 20480032 - 102400
White balance
  • Auto
  • Manual
  • Bracket
  • Outdoors/Daylight
  • Cloudy
  • Incandescent
  • Fluorescent
  • Shade
  • Flash
  • Auto
  • Manual
  • Bracket
  • Outdoors/Daylight
  • Cloudy
  • Incandescent
  • Fluorescent
  • Shade
  • Flash
Exposure Comp+/-5+/-5
Viewfinder
Viewfinder Resolution3.6m3.6m
Shooting Options
Continuous shooting12fps9fps
Video
Movie modeYesYes
Video Resolution
  • 1920x1080 FullHD
  • 4K
  • 1920x1080 FullHD
  • 4K
Video FPS4K 30fps, FullHD 120fps4K 30fps, FullHD 120fps
Stereo SoundYesYes
Optical Zoom with VideoYesYes
Other Features
Image StabilisationYesYes
Interface
HDMIYesYes
USBUSB-CUSB-C
Wi-FiYesYes
Storage
Card Type
  • XQD
  • XQD
File Type
  • RAW
  • JPG
  • RAW + JPG
  • RAW
  • JPG
  • RAW + JPG
Power Source
Battery TypeEN-EL15BEN-EL15B
Battery Life (CIPA rating)310shots330shots
Box Contents
Box ContentsNo DataNo Data
Dimensions
Weight675g675g
Width134mm134mm
Height100.5mm100.5mm
Depth67.5mm67.5mm
View Full DetailsView Full Details
 


Support this site by shopping with one of our affiliates: Amazon UK, Amazon US, Amazon CA, ebay UK
*It doesn't cost you anything extra when you use these links, but it does support the site, helping keep ePHOTOzine free to use, thank you.

Photographs taken using the Nikon Z6

A Dandy -Lion whats the timeCregneash National Folk Museum (1)Port Erin Railway StationWren in Prunus.PEEKABOO!Iv'e got my beady eye on you."Lime Avenue"A view from Yarmouth Bridge."No Barking"SimplicityNo.13 Bank StreetCurlew.Treecreeper.Hey Buddy, this is My patch!Curlew pretending to be a Kiwi.

Other articles you might find interesting...

Sony Alpha A9 II Review
Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark III Review
Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II Review - Updated
Panasonic Lumix GX880 Review
'My Year With The Micro Four Thirds Camera System' By David Thorpe
Canon EOS R5 Photos
Canon EOS R5 Will Have 8K Video At 30p & Animal Auto Focus
Hasselblad X1D II 50C Shooting Experience

Comments


JackAllTog Plus
11 5.9k 58 United Kingdom
23 Aug 2018 7:28AM
That looks amazing, love the new mount and how lenses can be smaller and apertures larger. A light weight camera with smaller lenses sounds perfect for street photography.
In body stabilization too.
Looking forward to seeing some new images with the shallow focus feature.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

altitude50 15 17.6k United Kingdom
23 Aug 2018 8:36AM
It will be interesting to know if aftermarket lens manufacturers such as Sigma, Tamron & Tokina etc.are licenced to make lenses with the Z mount?
Or will users have to use old and new F mount leses with the adapter?
peterjones 18 5.0k 1 United Kingdom
23 Aug 2018 9:16AM
One of the reasons I enjoy using my existing mirrorless system is that the exposure triangle: shutter, aperture and ISO is exactly where I can see them and are easily attainable, this kind of ease of interface seems to have been lost on the new cameras but I will wait to see if I am proved wrong.
LenShepherd 12 4.1k United Kingdom
23 Aug 2018 9:25AM
Will you be adding more information after the "official" Nikon presentation - I hope so Grin
Is the converter going to be available from Day 1?
Will there be a grip?
Price?
The "higher resolution" seems to be courtesy of 32 ISO.

Len Shepherd
23 Aug 2018 9:30AM
Why oh why has it only one card slot, seems a glaring omission! they also mentioned that they would be giving the adapter with the camera which would make sense for all the DSLR users they could potentially pick up.
JJGEE 15 7.7k 18 England
23 Aug 2018 10:25AM

Quote:Why oh why has it only one card slot,

Quite a lot of similar comments on other websites / You Tube reviews.


Quote: giving the adapter with the camera

Alas no.

However a discounted price if you buy it with the body.
SteveCharles 17 2.3k 18 England
23 Aug 2018 11:03AM
Been waiting for this before deciding whether to go this route or D850. It looks great. My first thought was also 'only one card slot'. 600 for a 50mm 1.8 is a bit rich as well.
ChrisV 13 2.3k 26 United Kingdom
23 Aug 2018 12:03PM
It does look like it will be a lot of the things I was hoping for. Prices are higher than those leaked yesterday, but more in line with my expectations - apart from the lenses, which do seem to be on the high side - but that does seem to be the way the industry in general is regrettably, going.

Two surprising disappointments - the single card slot and the woeful battery life. It's a big unit - why is it only in line with the sort of performance mirrorless cameras typically get out of the smaller cells. The bigger batteries are usually rated at over double the life of these.

I wonder if Nikon has work to do on optimising their electronic systems? I would have thought the top plate LCD [with the rear kept off] would help to extend shooting time - it's something I've argued for for a number of years and was pleased to see starting to be implemented.
oriwo 1
23 Aug 2018 4:54PM
... face- and eye AF detection AF. dpreview say no. What's right?
JackAllTog Plus
11 5.9k 58 United Kingdom
23 Aug 2018 7:56PM
Some commnet on above.
Elsewhere i've read the grip is still in development.
Prices i've seen on kit pre-orders show the adapter costing 100 - not exactly giving it away as was led to assume.
I'm assuming the battery life issue common with other mirrorless cameras is due to also powering the EVF and the rear display.
joshwa Plus
9 914 1 United Kingdom
24 Aug 2018 8:11AM

Quote:Is the converter going to be available from Day 1?
Will there be a grip?
Price?
The "higher resolution" seems to be courtesy of 32 ISO.

Len Shepherd



Yes - it the FTZ adapter will be available with the Z7 from release day.
Yes - they are working on a battery grip - no news on the price of the grip though
See news: https://www.ephotozine.com/article/nikon-z6-z7-full-frame-mirrorless-cameras-announced-32615 (under "Development of the MB-N10 Battery Pack")
joshwa Plus
9 914 1 United Kingdom
24 Aug 2018 8:12AM

Quote:... face- and eye AF detection AF. dpreview say no. What's right?


I used the camera and face and eye-detection AF worked very well.
ChrisV 13 2.3k 26 United Kingdom
24 Aug 2018 1:21PM
I think DPR is saying face detect, but not eye detect. Which is correct?
JackAllTog Plus
11 5.9k 58 United Kingdom
24 Aug 2018 1:36PM
The US and the UK Nikon websites talk of face detection, but i was sure somewhere before i'd seen eye detection mentioned.
joshwa Plus
9 914 1 United Kingdom
25 Aug 2018 9:24AM
My mistake - when I was using the camera it must have just been a coincidence that it picked the eye as the area it focused on Smile

I'll update / correct this shortly.
29 Aug 2018 7:59AM
Finally Nikon launched its first full frame mirrorless cameras. But, why Nikon christened these new cameras as Z6 and Z7 rather than something like Z1(24MP) and Z2/Z1H(45MP) ? Is Nikon going to discontinue DSLR in near future, therefore moving on from D5 to Z6 (and Z7) instead of D6 ? Is FTZ mount adapter an another sign of Nikon switching over to mirrorless in coming years ? Also, will Nikon make APS-C format mirrorless cameras with C-line Z mount lenses in the future ? We will have to wait and watch.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.