Get 50% off Adobe CC Photography plan with any X-Rite ColorChecker Photo product!

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ330 FZ300 Review - Verdict

 Add Comment

Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ330 FZ300 (5)

Value For Money

The Panasonic Lumix FZ330 is available for £499 which makes it great value for money, with an f/2.8 constant aperture lens and 4K video recording. Alternatives to look at include the following cameras: 

Larger sensor cameras:
Canon Powershot G3 X, 24x optical zoom, f/2.8-5.6, no EVF, weather-sealed, £779
Panasonic Lumix FZ1000, 16x optical zoom, f/2.8-4.0 (at 400mm), 12fps, 4K video, EVF, £620
Sony Cyber-shot RX10, 8.3x optical zoom, f/2.8, 8fps, FullHD video, EVF, weather-sealed, £599
Sony Cyber-shot RX10 II, 8.3x optical zoom, f/2.8, 14fps, 4K video, EVF, weather-sealed, £1200 (RRP)

Compact sensor alternatives:
Fujifilm FinePix S-1, 50x optical zoom lens, f/2.8-5.6, weather-sealed, £265
Olympus Stylus SH-2, 24x optical zoom lens, f/3.0-6.9, not constant aperture, no EVF, £219
Olympus Stylus 1, 10.7x optical zoom lens, f/2.8 constant aperture, with EVF, £379

Have a look at more ultra-zoom / bridge cameras in our Top 10 Best Ultra Zoom Bridge Cameras 2015.

You'll also need to buy a memory card and a case or bag to keep your camera safe and protected - have a look at our complete guide to camera bags.

Panasonic Lumix FZ330 (FZ300) Verdict

The Panasonic Lumix FZ300 offers a high quality f/2.8 constant aperture 24x optical zoom lens, and this, combined with a 12 megapixel 1/2.3inch sensor results in images that are detailed and crisp, with none of the over processing, and noise associated with higher resolution (16/18/20mp 1/2.3inch) sensors. Lens quality does not suffer as much as other cameras at the full optical zoom, and the camera is one of the most affordable compact cameras available that is capable of recording 4K video. High speed continuous shooting is on offer, and the camera is extremely quick in use with fast shutter response, as well as extremely fast focus speeds. 

The design and handling of the camera is very good, with a weather sealed body making it suitable for use, even in British weather. The camera features a high resolution vari-angle touch screen with good viewing angles, and the high resolution electronic viewfinder looks great, with a generous rubber eye-surround. There is an abundance of options and settings that will keep both the advanced photographer, as well as the keen videographer happy. The Panasonic Lumix FZ330 offers an appealing package, that delivers both high quality images and video, and you'd be hard pressed to find a better camera, or even one that could offer the same features and specifications, for the price.

Panasonic Lumix FZ330 (FZ300) Pros

High quality f/2.8 Leica lens
High image quality
4K video recording
4K (8 megapixel) photo mode at 30fps
5-axis image stabilisation
Good noise performance up to ISO800
Great value for money
Dual-axis electronic level
High resolution EVF and touch-screen
Numerous video options
Weather-sealed
Rapid performance

Panasonic Lumix FZ330 (FZ300) Cons

NFC not included
Could have focal length markings on lens barrel

FEATURES  
HANDLING  
PERFORMANCE  
VALUE FOR MONEY  
VERDICT  

The Panasonic Lumix FZ330 offers a desirable package, that delivers both high quality images and video, and you'd be hard pressed to find a better camera for the price.


Support this site by shopping with one of our affiliates: Amazon UK, Amazon US, Amazon CA, ebay UK
*It doesn't cost you anything extra when you use these links, but it does support the site, helping keep ePHOTOzine free to use, thank you.

Photographs taken using the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ330

Emerging BluebellsIndian Street BeggarStreet TraderIndian Flower Market TraderOpen DahliaA Study In GreenThis Is Personal!Derelict Canal Swing Bridge.Such Fun!BuskingKimi RaikonenAutumn on the PenninesInside Tewkesbury AbbeyOn DerwentwaterDead trees

Other articles you might find interesting...

Nikon Coolpix P950 Review
Fujifilm Instax Mini LiPlay Review
Sony Cyber-shot RX100 VII Review
Canon Powershot G7 X Mark III Full Review
Top 6 Best Webcams 2020
Top 10 Dashcam Dashboard Cameras 2020
Top 15 Best Ultra Zoom Bridge Digital Cameras 2020
Fujifilm Launch Instax Mini 11 Instant Camera

Comments


pablophotographer 8 1.5k 368
18 Aug 2015 1:16PM
Yeah It should have focal length markings on the barrel, do you hear that Panasonic?
I'll exchange my FZ45 when you do so, lol
Niknut Plus
10 2.5k 82 United Kingdom
18 Aug 2015 4:40PM
Mmmmmm....can't see much improvement, if any, over my FZ45 ??

Image quality looks the same, lens zoom range same.......perhaps the EVF has a slightly higher
resolution, or is it the video capabilities that's been 'upped' ?.....I never use video anyway, so there's
no reason to 'upgrade' !!!......Love my FZ45 anyway !!!!!!!!!.Grin
18 Aug 2015 11:01PM
mmmmh... just arrived today a Fz45 that I bid in eBay for 47€.... and it is my 15th camera ....end is very Nice.
I' m starting love the fz45 ....color exposure....etc.
maybe I will bid for a "old" fz200
19 Aug 2015 5:48PM
You might find that once you look through the EVF, you might be tempted ! The problem I see is that it is about the same price as the FZ1000 which is quite superb, I cannot see anybody buying this one.
20 Aug 2015 9:01AM
Obviously a nice camera. It is a clever evolution of the the FZ200 but I wonder whether it is really worth the expense if you consider that the FZ1000 is only 25% pricier. I think I will keep my FZ200 until further developpments.
Kawika 6 7
11 Sep 2015 11:16PM
So, Pablo, what is your point?
Kawika 6 7
11 Sep 2015 11:35PM
It's very strange to claim that somehow the FZ45 is remotely comparable.
A few obvious and significant advantages of the FZ330 include:
mic port
articulated screen
screen 1040k vs 230k
touch screen
1440k dot EVF v 201k dot
video 4K, also true HD (1080) vs 720
ISO max 6400 vs 1600
hotshoe for flash
weather sealed
much quicker AF
much better IS
max shutter speed 1/16000s vs 1/2000s
max tele aperture 2.80 vs 5.20
much larger pixels

If you're only shooting the children's birthday parties or holiday snapshots for FaceBook, the FZ45 is probably good enough. But if you want room to improve you photography, capture elusive moments in bad light or with quick action, it is hopelessly outclassed compared to the FZ330.
14 Sep 2015 11:26AM
After reading the review ... I just how a very nice fz45 I purchased a fz200 in ebay .... Better in everything!!! Very fast AF like my 500d better colour and exposition of 500d and rarely You need more than 800ISO to shoot ... My best camera st the moment ( I have 2 dsrl and 3 m43) expecially for colour rnditition if You shoot in jpg
StrayCat 16 19.1k 3 Canada
26 Sep 2015 12:04AM
With the FZ1000 having a sensor 4 times the size of the FZ330's, I don't see choosing the 330, evev with the longer, brighter? lens. What interests me with the FZ1000 is the Photo Video feature producing 8mp stills; I wonder how those compare in size with each other?
19 Mar 2016 10:03AM
I own this camera, I went through a few reviews of this camera before I replaced my FZ200, one thing is not mentioned, moving the LCD screen from its parked position, on the FZ200 was very awkward and fiddly, Panasonic have addressed this and it's very easy on the FZ330, the other thing I have to say is the electronic viewfinder is so much better you will never want to use the F200 again.
22 Jul 2016 4:02PM
Attention à l'arnaque : Design tropicalisé et semi-étanche

Je souhaitais vous faire part de ma mésavanture avec un FZ300 qui avait 8 mois donc toujours sous garantie constructeur.
Nous avions choisi cet appareil pour son design tropicalisé car nous faisons beaucoup de voyages exotiques.
Au bout de 8 mois et de 3 voyages, problème d'autofocus.
Nous le ramenons à la FNAC qui le renvoie à panasonic qui nous répond " Traces d'oxydation" pour les réparations vous devez payer 350 euros ( la moitié du prix de l'appareil).
Le problème c'est que nous n'avons jamais approché cet appareil de l'eau!!!
Panasonic n'a rien voulu entendre, ni même se remettre en question et nous a renvoyé sur la FNAC (revendeur) et sur Nicken Techno ( entreprise qui effectuent leurs tests). Nous avons même essayé de contacter directement leur service SAV et leur service commercial sans plus de succès.
C'est dommage sans cela c'était un bon appareil jusqu'à ce qu'il tombe en panne.
pablophotographer 8 1.5k 368
22 Nov 2016 12:30AM
Karolyn said this: (Google translate)

''Attention to the scam: Tropicalized and semi-waterproof design

I wanted to tell you about my experience with a FZ300 that was 8 months so always under manufacturer's warranty.
We chose this camera for its tropical design because we do a lot of exotic travel.
After 8 months and 3 trips, autofocus problem.
We bring it back to the FNAC which returns it to panasonic who answers us "Traces of oxidation" for the repairs you have to pay 350 euros (half the price of the device).
The problem is that we never approached this device with water !!!
Panasonic did not want to hear, even question itself and referred us to the FNAC (reseller) and Nicken Techno (company that carry out their tests). We even tried to contact their service and sales department directly without any further success.
It is a pity without it it was a good device until it breaks down.''




Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.