Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Photographer among 2003 Dan David Prize winners

Photographer among 2003 Dan David Prize winners - Photojournalist, James Nachtwey wins 2003 Dan David prize

 Add Comment


Photographer among 2003 Dan David Prize winners'The Dan David Prize announced the winners of its 2003 prizes for the Past, Present and Future Time Dimensions today following a meeting of its distinguished board in mid-town Manhattan. The three $1 million awards will be presented at a ceremony in May 2003. The prize, named after international entrepreneur and auto photo booth developer, Dan David, is funded from a $100 million Dan David Foundation endowment administered by Tel Aviv University. A key facet of the prize is that it pays forward where $100,000 of each award goes to scholarships for young researchers or scholars in the winner's field of studies.

This year's winners are:

2003 Dan David Prize Winner - Past Time Dimension /Paleoanthropology Prof. Michel Brunet - In 2002, he discovered the complete cranium of a new hominid, nicknamed Toumai, today considered as the ancestor of humankind. This discovery was made after more than a decade of intense field study in Chad. He also discovered the first australopithecine in the West part of the Rift Valley in 1995. Brunet is a Professor of Vertebrate Paleontology at the University of Poitiers. He lives in France.

Photographer among 2003 Dan David Prize winners2003 Dan David Prize Winners - sharing the award for the Present Time Dimension/Print & Electronic Media
James Nachtwey - A photojournalist who has dedicated his life to
documenting the apocalyptic events of our time: war, famine, critical social issues, and the plight of the disfranchised all over the world. With the eye of an artist and the instinct of a journalist, he creates images that may not be easy to look at but are impossible to ignore. He currently lives in New York City.

Frederick Wiseman ' He has produced 32 documentaries and 2 fiction films. From Titicut Follies to Domestic Violence, his microscopic critiques cut across a broad swath of American institutions and behavior. His subjects have included the criminal justice system, education, medical care, science, the military, the performing arts, leisure, entertainment and sports. His unique path-breaking filmmaking represents a dispassionate intelligence reveling in explorations of the commonplace, which in turn provoke a new way of seeing and understanding ourselves, and beyond this, to compel reexamination of social and political policies. Originally from Boston, MA, he resides in Cambridge, MA.

2003 Dan David Prize Winner - Future Time Dimension/Cosmology & Astronomy
Prof. John N. Bahcall ' He pioneered the development of neutrino astrophysics, showing since 1964 how neutrino detectors allow a deep look inside the Sun, and elaborating from this observation sophisticated theoretical models. Born in Shreveport, LA, he is currently a visiting lecturer at Princeton University.

On the announcement of the 2003 winners, Dan David stated, "Even in the most tumultuous times, man's greatest achievements have been the beacon of light to show us to peace and prosperity. The Dan David Prize is an ongoing quest to recognize and award for those who help us understand what we were in the past, to help us to live better today or in the present, and those that further our knowledge and dreams to improve the future."

In 1965, an interest-free $200,000 loan from a cousin gave Dan David the chance he needed to develop his photographic inventions and technology patents ' including the automatic photo booth -- which have resulted in his becoming a successful businessman and multi-millionaire. Now, Dan David is Chairman of Photo-Me International Plc, a company listed on the London Stock Exchange, which has about 90% worldwide marketshare of automatic photo booths found in malls and arcades worldwide. Given his background, Dan David understands the importance of getting a break, so he designed the Prize to have the 'pay it forward' element with $100,000 of each winner's
award establishing scholarships for exceptional young scholars or
researchers to invigorate studies in the winner's fields. Advanced
doctoral students of excellent achievement and promise are invited to apply for Dan David Prize scholarships.

Calls for 2003 nominations for the Dan David Prize resulted in responses from countries on four continents, Africa, Asia, Europe and North America. Many top academic institutions submitted candidates including some of the world's best-known scientists, public figures, and institutions.

The winners of the 2003 Dan David Prize have been selected among the final nominees, by independent review committees made up of distinguished members of the international academic and business community.

The Dan David Prize Board which announced the winners is chaired by Prof. Itamar Rabinovich, President of Tel Aviv University, and comprised of Dr. Bruce Alberts, President of the National Academy of Sciences (USA) and Chairman of the National Research Council (USA); Prof. Helene Carrere d'Encausse, Member of the European Parliament, Permanent Secretary of the French Academy of Science; Prof. Hanna H. Gray, former President of Chicago University; Prof. Joshua Jortner, President of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Chemistry Professor at Tel Aviv University; Dr. Henry A. Kissinger, former US Secretary of State; Dr. Richard Klausner, Director of the National Cancer Institute (USA), Former Chief of the Cell Biology and Metabolism Branch of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (USA); Prof. Klaus Schwab, Founder and President, World Economic Forum; Mr. Dan David, International Businessman, Founder of the Dan David Prize and Mr. Francis Wahl, Director in the Dan David Foundation, Businessman.

This prize searches the globe and award achievements on a non-discriminatory basis. Candidates are selected based on the excellence of their skills and the quality of their work and achievements that contribute to others. The Dan David Prize scholarships are also open to all students of excellent achievement in the fields of the winners," said Prof. Itamar Rabinovich, Chairman of the Dan David Prize Board and President of Tel Aviv University.

The Dan David Prize is headquartered, managed, and awarded annually at Tel Aviv University, but is structured on a global basis, reflected in the composition of the Prize's Board.

The Dan David Prize also announced that it is now accepting nominations for next year's awards.

For more information on the Dan David Prize and its scholarships, please visit its website: http://www.dandavidprize.org

Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Explore More

There are no comments here! Be the first!

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.