Nik Collection 2018 by DxO - FREE with selected X-Rite products!

Royal Photographic Society Awards Winners

The Royal Photographic Society Awards winners have been announced.

|  Events
 Add Comment

Steve Sasson with digital camera
Steve Sasson with the world's first digital camera. Image by Steve Kelly
The Royal Photographic Society has announced the recipients of its annual awards at a ceremony held yesterday, 6 September 2012, at the Royal Society, London. The awards, which are supported by The Macallan, recognise individuals who have made significant contributions to the art and science of photography. They have been given since 1878.

Winner of the Progress Medal is Steven J Sasson, who is awarded for his work on the invention of the digital camera which he developed whilst working for Eastman Kodak in 1975.

The Centenary Medal is awarded to Joel Meyerowitz, who was an early exponent of colour photography in 1962 and documented the immediate aftermath of the 9/11 World Trade Centre Attack.

The award for Outstanding Service to Photography went to Kathy Ryan, for advancing visual boundaries at the New York Times Magazine.

A full list of the award winners can be found on the RPS website.

Support this site by shopping with one of our affiliates: Amazon UK, Amazon US, Amazon CA, ebay UK, WEXPark CamerasAdobeSamsung, Microsoft, 7DayShop, Photobox, Save 10% with Eversure Insurance.
*It doesn't cost you anything extra when you use these links, but it does support the site, helping keep ePHOTOzine free to use, thank you.

Other articles you might find interesting...

Furr & Mankowitz - 45RPM Exhibition Now On
Test Drive The Olympus OM-D E-M1X At The British Touring Car...
World Pinhole Day 2019 Takes Place On 28 April 2019
Join Olympus & The Giffords Circus
Join Olympus At The British Touring Car Championship!
Elton John Photography Collection To Feature At V&A Photography Centre
Antiparos International Photo Festival Deadline Submission Extended
Wex Photo Video To Showcase Unseen Work By Peter Dench

There are no comments here! Be the first!

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.