Affinity Photo - professional photo editing with 50% off!

Sigma sd Quattro H Hands-On Preview

We go hands-on with the new Sigma sd Quattro H and Quattro mirrorless cameras with Foveon sensor technology.

|  Sigma sd Quattro in Mirrorless Cameras
 Add Comment

Sigma Sd Quattro H (2)

The new Sigma SD Quattro comes as the Quattro with APS-C sensor, and as the Quattro H with larger, higher resolution APS-H sensor. Both cameras use the same 2.36m dot electronic viewfinder (EVF) as the Sony Alpha 7 series, and both cameras body and design are the same, with the difference being the resolution and size of the sensor. 

The SD Quattros feature a removable infra-red filter at the front, which can be removed for infrared photography. The filter also acts as dust protection for the sensor, moving dust away from the sensor should also mean that if there is dust, it's less likely to show up as dots on the image. The SD Quattros have a unique two screen display on the back:

Pphoto Sd Quattro S 03
 

Sigma sd Quattro Features

  • Dual TRUE III image processor
  • New Super Fine Detail exposure mode
  • Combination of Phase detection AF and contrast detection AF
  • Focus peaking function
  • 2.36m dot electronic viewfinder (EVF)
  • 3.0inch 1.62m dot screen
  • Magnesium alloy body
  • Dust and splashproof design
  • Quick set menu
  • 14-bit RAW data
  • In-camera RAW processing
  • Higher precision white balance (new algorithm)
  • Colour modes, Monochrome options
  • Custom bracketing display
  • Electronic level
  • USB3 port

 

Sigma sd Quattro H

  • 45 megapixel total pixels (25.5 megapixel top layer)
  • 51 megapixel max image size
  • APS-H Foveon sensor (26.6x17.9mm)
  • 1.3x crop
  • 3.8fps up to 10 images
  • 5.1fps with Low image size (20 images)

Sigma Sd Quattro H (6)

Sigma sd Quattro

  • 33 megapixel total pixels (19.6 megapixel top layer)
  • 39 megapixel max image size
  • APS-C Foveon sensor (23.5x15.5mm)
  • 1.5x crop
  • 3.6fps - up to 14 continuous shots 
  • 5.1fps with Low image size (28 images)

The Sigma SD Quattros replace the Sigma SD1 Merrill Digital SLR, and use the same Sigma SA lens mount - Here we've compared the SD Quattro to the Sigma SD1 Merrill:

Sigma Sd Quattro H Vs Sigma Sd1 Merrill (2)
Sigma SD Quattro H Vs Sigma SD1 Merrill 

Sigma Sd Quattro H Vs Sigma Sd1 Merrill (1)
Sigma SD Quattro H Vs Sigma SD1 Merrill Top

 

Sigma sd Quattro H Hands-On Photos of Equipment

 

Sigma sd Quattro Photos of Equipment

Support this site by shopping with one of our affiliates: Amazon UK, Amazon US, Amazon CA, ebay UK, Save 10% with Eversure Insurance.
*It doesn't cost you anything extra when you use these links, but it does support the site, helping keep ePHOTOzine free to use, thank you.

Used Photography Gear

Cameraworld The offers are provided by the Cameraworld & ePHOTOzine Partnership, see more fantastic Used Photography Gear.

Photographs taken using the Sigma sd Quattro

Lyme Regis - Back of the Cobb BuildingsSidmouth, beach below Connaught GardensFun & Laughter at 'Guitars On The Beach' Event, Lyme Regis, 15th June 2019Unloading Whelks, Lyme Regis HarbourCobb Buildings, Cobb, Lyme RegisHarbour, Lyme Regis, at low tideBest Of FriendsLyme Regis Cobb SeascapeBus at The Square, Lyme RegisThornsCapel HorebNew Inn Bridge

Other articles you might find interesting...

Leica Q2 Review
Fujifilm GFX100 Review
Panasonic Lumix S1 Review
Panasonic Lumix G90 Review
Olympus Pen E-PL10 With A Flip-Down Screen
Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark III Vs Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II Com...
Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark III Review
Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark III Available Mid November 2019 For &...

Comments


pablophotographer 8 1.3k 352
21 Mar 2016 6:53AM
Typical(?) Sigma.
Correct me if I am wrong I do not see a provision for a vertical grip and
can you please verify if the box will contain two batteries (one for use, one extra for extra shooting time?)
I hope the software included will be working faster than ever.
pablophotographer

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

25 Mar 2016 3:31AM
I know I have read that there is a battery grip going to be available for it.
25 Mar 2016 3:32AM
And there is going to be a space for a extra SD card in it also I believe.
26 Mar 2016 9:44PM
There will be the tiny space where to store it, a little pocket ^_^ ... or an operative slot, a second hot slot to write/read the SD card?
Which one you believe more possible?
26 Mar 2016 11:52PM
The Card slot is just to have a spare on with you. It does not write to it that I know of.
31 Dec 2016 10:21PM
I am really excited about this camera. I am not a professional photographer, but other than my real job, its pretty much all I have done for the past 20 years. I shoot street photography, landscapes and wildlife if I happen across them. Sometimes birds, but only if my camera is out shooting something else and they happen to be close. I like using the tripod to create sharp images to print as big as possible, but dont have the funds for a medium format digital. For me, 90% of the experience of photography is about the process of taking pictures and how they look in the end, not how fast the camera works or if I can use the camera to take pictures in the dead of night or if I cant freeze motion of a bird in mid flight from 200m away or take pictures of sports games. If there is light and shadows in a beautiful scene, and I can capture it at 100iso with a tripod or hand held, I am happy. Darker than that, and I put my camera away after max 400iso, usually 200iso. When I make a list of the most amazing photographs I have ever seen, 95% of them are shot at 100 iso, likely on a tripod. Personally, I have no need to shoot at higher ISO's as it just introduces noise. I also don't like taking alot of photos, as that just means I have to spend more time in front of the computer deciding which shot is the best. I would rather spend that time outside composing the perfect frame. If I go out shooting for an afternoon or a day, I will rarely take more than 30-60 photos, and most I will delete right on the camera before I even get home.

Things that have been mentioned above such as provision for a vertical grip, extra battery, faster software, space for extra SD card, and other comments about sigmas on other sites such as limited number of burst shots and slow preview speed, or performance in daylight at high ISO, I have never even thought about as a requirement for me. I shoot higher ISO if its too dark to hand hold at 100iso, or use a tripod at 100iso. If there is no light, then I don't shoot. I shoot in the darkness only to capture what my eye would see, nothing more. I post most of my pictures on social media, but occasionally when I luck out and a get an awesome shot I will dedicate some time to photoshop + a print. This would probably only cover about 20 photos a year for me.

Based on the way I approach photography, this is literally the perfect camera for me. I also suspect there are many others who also are like me. But not many reviewers would think like this as they are professional photographers and need to, or at one time had to, take pictures to make money. And when you have to take pictures to make money, you have different requirements.


Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.