Save 35% On A SmugMug Account Today!

Advice needed again please

Debbiee 14 136 6 United Kingdom
11 Sep 2006 11:32AM
Ok, I've decided Photography is the career path I want to go down, I enjoy photography and find a passion in it, I especially like doing outdoor portraiture, as you can see from the few images I have put in my portfolio (will have to get some more uploaded soon), so Im guessing that I would enjoy Wedding photography, although I have no experience in this field, I do have plenty of experience in Studio portraiture, but I prefer to have the open space and I find I can produce much nicer images. I have put quite a few images with stock agencies, although not sold any as of yet, but this is a recent venture.

Anyway I'm rambling on again, I am highly interested in wedding photography but don't know how to get into it, my trouble is that I have a five year old daughter and can possibly get my mum to look after her maybe one Saturday a fortnight(I say Saturday as that is when weddings generally take place)
I have thought about writing off to wedding photographers to become an apprentice but then i cannot guarantee I can work for them all the time i.e babysitter permitting. I am quite willing to work for free when I do get the time, as I think the experience would be payment enough. Could anyone suggest a way I may be able to get experience in this field or a way I could maybe word a letter saying that I may not be able to work on some occassions etc.

Many thanks

Debbie
Carabosse 18 41.5k 270 England
11 Sep 2006 11:37AM

Quote:I enjoy photography and find a passion in it

Would you be happy doing utterly boring photography as well as the "nice" stuff - because it makes money for you?
11 Sep 2006 11:43AM