Enter the ePHOTOzine Christmas Prize Draw extravaganza!

Advice on a sale please...

mattberry 15 259 14 Greece
20 Mar 2007 1:34PM
Hi all,

I've been asked for a price for a one off use for a photo in my portfolio, by a local authority.

As I'm new to the idea of selling pics, can anyone give me an idea of a realistic price that I should ask?

the picture in question

Thanks in advance for any help.

Regards
Matt

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

celyn 14 88 Wales
20 Mar 2007 1:57PM
Stock Photo price calculator here
ZenTog 17 7.9k 1 England
20 Mar 2007 1:59PM
depending on useage and the licence you give them, I would look between 100 -250 , start at the higher figure and be prepared to bargin, the only people who dont bargin are people right a the top of the tree, they can afford to turn money down if its not enough

by the way its a really good wildlife picture love the black and green background
mjsayles 13 1.0k
20 Mar 2007 2:25PM
If it's a local authority, bear in mind they will probably have a very limited budget.

But generally, yes, aim high and barter down, if necessary.
mjsayles 13 1.0k
20 Mar 2007 2:26PM
Sorry - mysterious double-posting.
Ade_Osman 16 4.5k 36 England
20 Mar 2007 2:51PM
Hiyer Matt,
I sold a shot of a Holly Blue butterfly last year to an agent working of behalf of a Local Authority (Lambeth) last year. It was to be used as a one-off 6x4 inch image on a wildlife reserve information board detailing the species. I charged 100 in the end which I thought was reasonable given what it was going to be used for......Hope this helps....Ade
Simon_Whitehouse 15 769 5 United Kingdom
20 Mar 2007 7:34PM
I hope you gave Sue the money Ade!

Smithy
23 Mar 2007 11:47PM
Thanks to everyone who posted. I took the advice and have just about struck a deal now, at a figure I am happy with.

Its a good feeling to have someone out there actually want to use one of your pics Smile

Matt
Pete Plus
18 18.8k 97 England
24 Mar 2007 9:13AM