Up To 50% Off Regatta Clothing + An Extra 10% Discount With Code: MSSEXTRA10

Advice to a newbie

Andysnapper 12 109 25 England
20 May 2008 10:45AM
Hi all,

Can anyone please give me some advice. I'm new to photography and 6 months ago bought a Nikon D40x and I have since bought the 55-200mm Nikkor VR lens.
I have realised that the lens is not long enough for the type of photography I like, wildlife mainly, and would like to upgrade. I have seen on offer, on a birding site, a Nikon D70 with a Tamron 200-500mm zoom for a very reasonable price (I think). But, as the Tamron will not autofocus with the D40x, would the D70 be up to the job?
Thanks for any advice

Andy
BubbaG2000 13 767 1
20 May 2008 2:13PM
Hi Andy
I too have a D40x, and as much as I love it, the autofocus issue is a bit of a pain. However, I don't think you should trade for a D70. I don't know how much the D70 is selling for, but I suggest selling your 200mm lens (face it, knock 10 off full price and people will still buy 2nd hand!) and putting the money towards a Nikon 70-300 VR lens. It costs about 300 but will definitely autofocus on the D40x.

Edit - I totally missed the mention of the 500mm spec of the Tamron. I hope my post is still valid!
cameracat 17 8.6k 61 Norfolk Island
20 May 2008 3:21PM
There are several considerations here...!

First if the Tamron Lens is any good....Then the price if it's reasonable might be worth it for that alone....!

Secondly, You will also be getting a D70, That if in good working order is still a very capable camera, Believe me when I say don't let Mega Pixel count pursuade you otherwise.....! And as you will be aware the D70 can handle the older AF lens, No problemo..!

So taking that into account, And if the " Price Is Right " it could be a good deal......Smile

However do some research on the Tamron Lens, I'm fairly sure it has been around for quite a while, Then compare price & potential quality + Overall condition of the combo....!