Today only! Up to 52% off Sony Cameras at Amazon UK!

Affinity photo for windows. Free trial.

capto Plus
8 6.4k 20 United Kingdom
11 Feb 2017 9:45AM
https://affinity.serif.com/en-gb/photo/new-features/
[trial is right at the bottom of the page]

Just started the 10 day free trial. time will tell if it's a keeper.
chavender Plus
9 467 1 France
11 Feb 2017 11:32AM

Quote:Just started the 10 day free trial. time will tell if it's a keeper.

Me too.
Looks interesting but a bit slow to open RAW files on my old PC.
JJGEE 15 7.8k 18 England
11 Feb 2017 7:43PM

Quote:Looks interesting but a bit slow to open RAW files on my old PC.

But would that not be the case for any software, not just Affinity ?
Jestertheclown 11 8.3k 253 England
11 Feb 2017 8:00PM
I've just tried a Nef. on here and it does take a while. Far longer than Capture One or Lightroom.
Making the necessary adjustments was hard work too.
I suppose it would get easier with practice but I'm just getting into Capture One, so I don't need to have to learn yet another process; although having said that, as it stands, Affinity's never going to take the place of Capture One or Lightroom.
I don't think that it's the Photoshop replacement that was hoped for either, although It might wipe the floor with Elements.

chavender Plus
9 467 1 France
12 Feb 2017 12:36AM

Quote:But would that not be the case for any software, not just Affinity ?

It takes a lot longer to open a NEF file than Lightroom 6 which runs nicely on my (oldish) PC..
I agree with Bren that it seems more capable than Elements.
So far, I prefer Lightroom.
CTee 13 131 United Kingdom
12 Feb 2017 10:39AM

Quote:So far, I prefer Lightroom.

but lightroom and affinity photo are two completely different things !! you should be comparing with photoshop or ps elements! Then look at the price, in which case for a lot of people the parts of PS which they use for photo editing Affinity would possibly be a far more cost effective product.