Amazon Music Unlimited Offer: 3-Months For FREE!

An Expensive Rookie Error

sherlob Plus
15 3.2k 130 United Kingdom
15 Apr 2021 1:52PM
Disaster struck yesterday when an external hard drive I used to store my archive of images crashed - you've guessed it - it wasn't properly backed up. I'm gutted!

Initial assessment indicates the drive motor has seized and I'm looking at a 500 bill to retrieve the data from the drive - albeit there will likely be data loss caused by the drive heads coming into contact with the drive plates.

Thankfully I do have back up's of most of my processed images - albeit looking at LR I suspect there are gaps which I can not account for. Still, I'm not very good at keeping up to date with my processing (a lack of time) and as such there was a lot of potentially good images in the archive - although these were mingled with many images that would have needed deleting. I now need to determine whether it is worth my while trying to get the data recovered.

A few questions:

1. Does anyone know of a way in which you can get Lightroom to search and show thumbnails for just the files that are missing within the catalog? I know in the main catalog that thumbnails will have a "!" mark in the top right corner if the file is missing, but to be honest this seems unreliable with images showing fine one moment but with the exclamation mark against them the next. I want to review the images in the catalog that are missing to help determine whether I want to spend the money to recover them.

2. Can anyone recommend a good data recovery service? The one I'm thinking of using is Cheadle Data Recovery Ltd. A little digging on the net showed many services have dodgy reviews (DRS for example) and are linked to hidden companies in the background e.g. Field Data Recovery.

Finally, please don't reply saying "you should have backed them up": I know it. BUT, for those who, like me, have let slide their backups or who have never backed up - START!

Best wishes,

Adam