Save An Extra 15% On All Regatta Clearance Jackets & Coats use code: JACKET15

Any Purists

23 Nov 2002 4:05PM
I have been following the debate in the digital imaging forum about what makes an image "digital" and am prompted to ask;

When does an "image" become so heavily manipulated that the term "photograph" is no longer applicable?
photoid5 18 154
23 Nov 2002 4:49PM
Someone used the term "capture". If the main point of the image is "THE DECISIVE MOMENT" then I consider it a photograph even if it was recorded on a digital camera. Computer art is when the original image is used only as material for elaboration. Here the end result is the work of the artist and the photo only a starting point.
23 Nov 2002 6:50PM
Hi Leanne.
Firstly let me apologise for posting the same question twice! I'm new to this technology!
I agree with your view that using an original image (or images) to produce a piece of artwork is not photography but graphic design.
Why then, are these images being submitted to a photography website as opposed to one catering for graphic artists?
photoid5 18 154
23 Nov 2002 7:23PM
I'm new too.still learning to type!Great fun.You may be about to ruffle some feathers with that comment!!!! computer intervention is now considered the norm in professional photography to enhance the original image in the same way that pics were retouched by hand in the past.Interesting to note that world famous photographers are making statements with very direct looking photography in the last couple of years. Photos can be dated more quickly by the technical fashions of the day than by their content.which is why b/w seems so timeless.Just look at the changes in color film since the 50's.
Stan. L-B 19 222 United Kingdom
23 Nov 2002 7:40PM
Hi Alan.
You have posed quite a loaded question which is aimed, it seems, directly at me! All my working life I have used photographic images to assist, a drawing or painting, in the conventional style.