Exclusive Offer - 20% Off Mitsubishi CP-M15E Printer Bundle!

Are photographers becoming clones?

paul_indigo 17 259 United Kingdom
12 Aug 2006 12:22PM
Now that programmes like Photoshop have made it relatively easy to clone things out just about everyone seems to feel the need to alter the real image their camera captured.

As an advertising photographer I understand the need to control and keep every element of the image clean so everything is focused on communicating the marketing message.

As a photojournalist (the mode I work in most of the time) I have a real problem with cloning things out unless they are absolutely inconsequential and even then I would think twice eg. a discarded plastic cup in the background - unless it is of course material to the story.

What are most photographers showing today on sites like epz. - some kind of sanitised version of reality? What is the real value to people if what you show in your pictures does not reflect the truth of the moment when you captured the image? By that I mean cloning out people, buildings, landscape features etc.
macroman 17 15.3k England
12 Aug 2006 12:48PM
I think you have a good point there Paul.

In 'the good old days' of film you used to get it right in the camera (not alaways) and trained yourself to look out for intrusive rubbish in the viewfinder.

Now it's so easy, just take the pic and work on it afterwards.

I'm not saying that it's neccesarily wrong, but I still prefer to study the subject, get it right and the press the button.

Saves a lot of playing around with the PC.

If I have to clone then I generally consider it a failed pic, unless it's something very minor.

Wait for trhe Flak!
KenTaylor 16 3.1k 2 United Kingdom
12 Aug 2006 12:58PM
No flak from me.
No different from the time photography was invented and is a very old argument. Only difference is it`s easier to do with a PC. This or similar has been thrashed out on another thread.
Ken
keith selmes 17 7.4k 1 United Kingdom