Best camera for wildlife

Larson13 5 1 United States
6 Apr 2014 4:46AM
Hi there,
I am new to photography, and I am wondering what a good camera for wildlife and fast-action sports would be.
I am on a budget, so $600 and down is all I can afford.
Also, what should I consider when shopping for one? What is a good shutterspeed for birds in the air while flying, animal running, skier on a downhill slope etc...
Thanks!

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

StrayCat 15 19.1k 3 Canada
6 Apr 2014 7:25AM
Hi Larson, welcome aboard. You are really no different than the rest of us when we started out. I have had about a dozen SLR outfits, and I can honestly say I still don't have a lens for birds on the wing. They're expensive, the cheapest will run you between $1000-1500.00, no kidding; and they're big and heavy. To stay within your budget with an slr, you will get at most a second hand camera and a couple of basic, (read slow) lenses.

However, all is not lost. Your budget sets you up nicely for a high quality bridge camera with a long telephoto capability, and also built-in excellent macro/close-up capability. You will need to shop very carefully for your requirements, because there's quite a bit of difference in cameras in this category. You will need a maximum aperture of at least f2.8, a continuous wide aperture would be best for birds in flight, a minimum telephoto range up to 400mm. Read lots of reviews, and ask lots of questions.

Here is one suggestion from me, and I think it meets and surpasses most requirements for what you want to do.

Panasonic DMC ZS40

And on this site; it is known as the TZ60 in Europe. Look it up on here, and there's a full review. The only thing I would ask for is a wider max aperture, it being f3.3, which isn't all that bad.
Steppenwolf 8 1.2k
6 Apr 2014 7:40AM