Best Compact Digi Camera?

18 Feb 2008 9:09PM
Hi...

I'm a pro photographer but I'm after a good digi compact for holiday snapshots etc. The things important to me are:-

Good image quality (obviously!)
Compact enough to keep comfortably in pocket
Good video capability (with zoom capable during videos if poss)
Image stabiliser

I'm not so concerned about price, I'm looking for something that will tick all the boxes and prepared to pay for it.

I have been tempted so far with :-

Ricoh R7
Pentax Optio A30
Lumix FX100

Read some good reviews for these...then seen other reviews telling me the opposite! I'm a Canon man but haven't found any well recommended yet at this level?

Any recommendations much appreciated.....

Thanks
User_Removed 17 17.9k 8 Norway
18 Feb 2008 9:16PM
18 Feb 2008 9:31PM
First time I've seen that, thanks......

But...I have to order it this week so I need something that's out now.....
leeroe 19 231 England
18 Feb 2008 9:41PM
Canon G9 ??!! fits the brief if a little on the chunky side. I am NEVER without mine these days, the 40d comes on big jobs the G9 is always with me. Awesome image quality and good zoom , 6x, and IS is very good !!

All IMHO of course.

Lee
18 Feb 2008 9:49PM
Agree that G9 seems to tick all the boxes... always have mine along too..
(and you can stay a 'Canon' user..!!)
Wink
Kevin.
18 Feb 2008 9:54PM
G9 looks great but I'm really after something more compact I can slot into my pocket and not notice.......

..and yeah, i would prefer to stick to Canon but some of the Ixus models fall short in previous reviews....
Little Jo 20 2.3k United Kingdom
18 Feb 2008 10:02PM
The G9 is pretty small - anything smaller and you'd need pixie fingers to use it.

The little black baby is capable of some super photos and you can even use a Canon EX speedlite with it. Nothing else comes close.

Jo
Paul Morgan 20 19.5k 6 England
19 Feb 2008 1:35AM
I`d second the DP1, don`t think its out until april though.