Amazon Kindle Unlimited Offer: 1-Month For FREE!

Blurred shots wide open with Canon 50mm

Geraint 14 715 34 Wales
3 Sep 2006 3:41PM
Hi. I'm fairly new to photography. I recently bought the highly recommended Canon 50mm 1.8 lens for my 350D, as I find the kit lens (18-55) a little disappointing. I've taken a few shots wide open (at 1.8) of people mainly, and the problem that I have is that some are sharp but others are not. I was on aperture priority; the shutter speeds were around the 1/2000 mark, and there was plenty of light. The subjects ranged from a couple of feet away to about 15 feet away. Could it be that I'm simply shooting too wide and need to use a smaller aperture? Sorry if this is a stupid question!
doczoc 18 773
3 Sep 2006 3:46PM
In those conditions I would have thought it would be hard not to get sharp results! Is everything blurred? Or has the lens focused on areas you didn't want it too?
Carabosse 18 41.6k 270 England
3 Sep 2006 3:47PM
Possibly lack of depth of field plus misfocusing.
Geraint 14 715 34 Wales
3 Sep 2006 3:56PM
Thanks for the quick replies. Perhaps the lens focused on unwanted areas like you suggested. I used the middle autofocus point in every shot though. Almost everything in the shots is soft. Maybe by using such a wide aperture only a tiny part of the picture is actually in focus, and the subsequent lack of depth of field makes it difficult to see it! I'll try different aperture settings to see what I can come up with! Thanks again
JohnHawthorne 15 1.7k 5 Scotland
3 Sep 2006 4:00PM
You say you are quite new to photography - how much do you know about depth of field (DOF)? Apologies if you already know this, but DOF is how much of the image, from front to back, is in focus. At a large aperture of f/1.8 the DOF will be very small so you will notice any slight mistake in focussing, especially when you are focussing quite close (a few feet). Smaller apertures increase the DOF so slight inaccuracies in the focussing won't be noticed.