Save 15% On Excire Foto Software With Code: EXCIRE-EP

Building a Personal website - advice needed

Overread 13 4.1k 19 England
26 Apr 2015 5:11PM
Ok so I've had flickr for a long while as my main gallery where I show my photos and its worked well; however its not 100% suitable. For a start the link to it is a bit of a mouthfull of random numbers and letters- fine for a link but a fuss around for real world exchanges.

I've also had a couple of people show potential interest in future purchases (yes that kind of once in a blue moon kind of offer); but most non-photo people don't have a flickr so saying "look on flickr and send me a note isn't a good option either.

I've had a wordpress blog in the past and it was great for blogging style, but not really ideal for a gallery approach (unless one heavily modified it).

So I'm looking for a web-host (since I'm no coder) that would suit as a general gallery display which could at the very least allow for easy contact. I'm not totally looking at turning it into a business of any kind, however I know a good few of the web horses for photography oft have a built in shop-front style approach so I'd be curious to hear any of the ins and outs people have had.
StuartAt 16 1.1k 8 United Kingdom
26 Apr 2015 5:47PM
You could simply link a domain to your Flickr account, just by buying from 123reg.co.uk or similar and redirecting to your Flickr page. Alternatively there are a few providers like Foliopic, Clikpic and the like, that give you a template to work with and you simply put your pics on the site. If you are a 'Plus' member on here you get a Foliopic account for a year I believe... might be worth trying to see how you get on.
User_Removed 6 1.0k United Kingdom
26 Apr 2015 7:24PM
All of my sites are iPage (though I do pay as I use them as a business and need all the many extras)

Websites are drag and drop and FREE if you don't need many many pages or 1.50 a month including a free domain name