Save 69% on inPixio Photo Studio 11 Ultimate (discount applied at checkout)

Can I earn any sort of living just from landscape photography?

LeighRebecca 13 267 10 England
22 Oct 2008 7:34PM
I haven't had chance to look on here for a while and I've no time to read and comment properly just now. I'm in the midst of trying to establish myself as a new business, and trying to get a small grant to help towards setup costs. I have my first work up in a local gallery, and have had my first sales, which is a great feeling! There is just so much to do at the moment, and it is taking up all my time and thinking for now! I'll catch up with myself soon and comment again when I can. I do appreciate the interest, and will catch up asap!!
NEWMANP 13 1.6k 574 United Kingdom
22 Oct 2008 8:02PM
for what its worth Leigh, you dont need any tuition, ive been snapping seriously for 30 yrs and yours is one of the sites i have been back to for inspiration on more than one occasion and i know Chris Charleworth thinks the same, some of your seascapes are among the best on here.
That said, some of my friends take similar shots and moody landscapes etc and having spent loads setting up websites etc have sold very few prints whilst i keep churning them out at a modest cost each. The reason is that most landscape photography will not sit well in a room framed unless it is a very simple almost minimal composition with a colour pallete that will match the decor, truth is that many of the simple flower crops or patterns in the landscape which would attract 2 or 3 clicks on here would look better in a frame than a sophisticated piece of photography.
"Wharmby" on here is a friend of mine and outsells me 6 to 1 by taking nice shots of local castles and buildings,
Make friends with local gift shops, framing shops, cafes with spare wall space etc and you will find that leaving a few framed shots behind will soon turn to sales,