Save 50% on Affinity software including Affinity Photo and Publisher! Use Code: AFFINITY-EPZ22

Can you recommend any Photoshop teaching books?

murasame 18 96
21 Jun 2004 9:08PM
Hi everone!

What do you think about books on Photoshop which explain all the basic or advanced techniques and give tips on how to use it?
All I know about Photoshop is basically self taught with trial and error or I know some tips from this website, etc. but I still feel like I don't know much about the very basic stuff of working with a program like that.

Can you recommend any books or can I read it all up on the Internet somewhere? What do you think?
How did YOU learn to make the best out of Photoshop?
Boyd 18 11.2k 11 Wales
21 Jun 2004 9:29PM
Personally I learnt a lot through trial and error and through the plethora of sites dedicated to Photoshop on the net. However, a book can also be a great way to learn.
Pete Bargh (the multi-millionaire playboy editor of ePHOTOzine) wrote this one which gets good reviews.

Boyd.
Pete 21 18.8k 97 England
21 Jun 2004 9:33PM
Thanks for the plug Boyd Smile... Also check out our book reviews section - link under learn menu on left - we have loads of Photoshop books reviewed by ePHOTOzine.
deviant 18 3.1k 1 United Kingdom
21 Jun 2004 10:08PM
The Photoshop book i'd recommend is Adobe Photoshop for Photographers by Martin Evening. It's clear detailed and the tutorials are very very clear indeed.
Toymaker 19 587 1
22 Jun 2004 6:43AM
I have a copy of "Photoshop 7 Down and Dirty Tricks" by Scott Kelby. It's a very informative book written with a lot of humour by a nice sounding guy.

Essentially Scott takes the lid off of the way that the pros produce their adverts and effects. There are lots of screen dumps and it's written in a easy-to-follow way to enable you to produce similar effects.

Even if you don't try out any of the effects and techniques, it's still a damn good read. He writes in a very informative and humorous way.
tim franklin 18 2.7k