Save 69% on inPixio Photo Studio 11 Ultimate (discount applied at checkout)

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM - the New 70-200 f2.8

shalik 11 36 United States
29 Mar 2010 4:26PM
I have been eying the 70-200mm f/2.8L IS for a couple months as it comes very highly recommended, but is also quite expensive. nevertheless, I am willing to pay for it.

Now Canon throws a wrench into this dilemma by introducing an improved version in the Mark II. Price of the Mark II however is 50% higher than the old lens.

Does anybody have any insights as to whether the new lens is worth the extra money, or should the old, celebrated, lens is good enough (which is what I thought reading tons of customer reviews).

In case you think it is relevant, I am a serious amateur, and have recently purchased two L series lenses (24-105, 16-35 II) so, yes, I did get the L bug..

Many thanks.
John_Frid 15 514 57 United Kingdom
29 Mar 2010 5:44PM
I have the original version which I paid about 1200 for a couple of years ago. It is a cracking lens and I'm not convinced it could be improved enough to warrant a price of more than 2000 that the Mk II goes for.

It may be worth looking for a used Mk I - This would leave you with a good sum to spend on something else.
Phil1958 12 272 4 Wales
30 Mar 2010 6:30PM
Don't know how "local" you are but Cambrian Photography in Colwyn Bay have a 2nd hand 70-200 2.8 IS at 1250.00 may be worth giving them a ring - 01492 532510. Sigma are about to launch a 70-200 EX 2.8 OS lens - no price yet but should be a fraction of the Canon equivalent - dpreview have given it a good write up. Looking to get one myself around May time when Cambrian have their "mini focus" show (26/5 from 10am)
Dave_Canon 14 2.0k United Kingdom
1 Apr 2010 7:55PM
I have the original and have no complaints. I do not think I would pay 50% more for an improvement that I probably cannot detect in a normal photograph. It is an excellent lens.

Dave
QP 11 16
2 Apr 2010 11:17AM