when i scan negs the colour on monitor looks fine
but when i print the colours are very deep
i use photoshop elaments
epson 890 printer
jessops 1800 scanner
i am new to this so any help is thankfuly received
PHD 19 116 United Kingdom
4 Aug 2002 1:27AM
This is probably the bigest problem in digital photography. What you see on the screen is not what you get in the print. Firstly you have got to balance your screen to the printer. To do this your first 'port of call' is 'Adobe Gamma' which you can find in 'Control Panels' Follow the instructions and then after setting up your screen, do a print. Compare your print to the screen image, it is unlikely that you have a perfect match. You then need to try and match the print to the screen, again using 'Adobe Gamma' If you have a high quality monitor you should be close to a match, but it won't be perfect.
Barrie Thomas has a CD that explains all of the above, which you might find useful. He goes in to a procedure called 'Ring around' and for me this is the best way to get a print matching what you see on the screen.
Good luck!
mad-dogs 19 2.2k England
10 Aug 2002 11:07PM
Steve,

Your monitor displays colours using red/green/blue ( RGB ) guns while your printer uses CYMK ( cyan/magenta/yellow/contant [black])

The RGB spectrum of colours will cover a greater range than CMYK. Sometimes when you visit the colour pickers, you will get an ' out of gamut' warning. This means that the colour will most likely display in RGB on the monitor but will not print in CMYK.

You can convert the image onscreen to CMYK mode Image>mode>CMYK colour and get a rough indication of what the image will look like.

Quite often, you will notice banding, which can to some extent be covered up by adding a little noise via the Filter menu.

I don't know what colour settings are available for Elements, but in Photoshop, you can change the settings for the CMYK output.
ie. Euroscale Coated V2 or set up your custom colour spaces .

regards

Dave
====